A Valentine Delivery

As I t3 heartshink about today being Valentine’s Day, I am wondering how you, my Reader, are feeling about the day. Will you be remembered in a way you would like? Will you receive roses or candy or a special love note? There are times when love may be expressed to you and me in the way we wish.   Then there are other times when we may shed a few tears because we feel like we are forgotten because of no outward demonstration of love. Personally, today may go unnoticed by my husband. However, if he honors me in some way, it will be because he desires to do so and not because the calendar says he should.  If it is just an ordinary day,  it does not mean that he does not love me, but he just chose to not celebrate this particular day with any special attention. He will give me most anything I want at any time. For example, when I started thinking about blogging, I asked if I could have his old laptop when the time came for him to purchase a new updated computer.  Instead of giving me his old one, he provided me with  a whole new computer system!  My personal computer now has a large monitor which is easy for me to see since my vision is limited. When I think about the way he expresses his love to me, I see that he truly is living and loving like Christ.  Jesus pours out his love upon each one of us every day of the year and He does not wait for a special day to express His love.  Jesus is a “not-so-secret admirer” not only on Valentine’s Day, but every day of every year!  He loves us whether it is Valentine’s Day or not.  In fact, He loves us with an everlasting love (Jeremiah 31:3) and He will never leave us or forsake us. (Hebrews 13:5)  God does not wait for a specific day to say, “I love you.”  He has given us the Bible as His complete love letter and we can read any part of this long letter anytime we wish. All we have to do is read His Word to learn how much he loves us.  Probably the most familiar love note He has personally written to each one of us is found in John 3:16. I like how the following layout incorporates “valentine” within this verse. However, I do not remember precisely how this was done nor do I know whom to credit to for the original.

For God so loVed the world3 hearts
…….t
hat He gAve
………..His onLy begotten Son,
……..that whoEver believes
…….. ………iN Him should

……………noT
………….. perIsh but have
…… everlastiNg

…………… li
fE.

Anot3 heartsher love note that I especially like is found in I Corinthians 13.  The extent to how much I like it depends upon the perspective from which I am reading this scripture . If I read it and hear Jesus describing His love to me, I am encouraged by the depth of His love.  I especially appreciate that He keeps no record of any wrong I may have ever done. If I read it and think that this is how someone is to love me, I may be disappointed if someone has been rude to me in some way.  If I read it as a guideline for how I am to love another person, I may discover that I am not always as loving as I think I am because I may not have been as patient with a friend or loved one as I should have been.  

Personally,  I’m glad Jesus expresses His love to me every day and not just on Valentine’s Day!  However, I am going to take time on this special day to tell Jesus how much I love him.  I am also going to be sensitive about how I express my love to those who have a special place in my heart.

 Happy Valentine’s Day!

 Joyfully,
Cheryl

Thought for the week: we are surrounded by the creative power of love (Taken from And It Was Good by Madeleine L’Engle)

Thanks for joining me today! My goal is to add a new post almost every Wednesday.

8 thoughts on “A Valentine Delivery

  1. Hi Cheryl,
    Congratulations on your first post! And it’s a good one:-) I like the version you used of John 3:16 – very fitting, especially for today. You’re right – we don’t need a designated day to express our love to others. Hopefully, we’re doing that continuously.
    “Happy Valentines Day” to you and Gary. Enjoy it, whatever you do!

  2. Cheryl,
    Thank you for the love you are showing by sharing your heart with us. I like the challenge to see the quiet signs of love that may be so familiar we take them for granted and that we need to check if we
    in fact are showing that love of Christ that dwells within us to others.
    Looking forward to your posts in the future.
    Blessings to you and Gary and all your loved ones.
    Mary Lou

  3. Great first post!! I’m glad that you know how deeply that you are loved, and thanks for giving us all this reminder. 🙂
    I hope that you had a great Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

