Mini Mountain Muffins

This morning I baked apple muffins.  As I took the pan of muffins out of the oven, I saw each individual muffin as a mini mountain .  All the little mounds in the rows of the muffin pan made an amazing landscape!  There was separation between each muffin so each incline and decline could be observed by itself. The visual climb was not constant. Up and down, up and down from hill to valley, hill to valley.  As I removed one muffin from the pan, I held it in my hand for closer inspection.  The terrain of my little hill was lumpy because of the chunks of apple inside the muffin.  There was a sprinkling of brown sugar on top of each edible mound that gave the appearance of snow on top of this mini mountain.  (Dirty snow!)

I let the muffins set on the cooling rack for a while and I sat down to meditate upon the similarities between my baking experience and my life.  My life is composed of hills and valleys.  I am glad life is not a constant uphill climb, but that there are smooth times to rest in between the steep inclines.  I am also aware that the ascent is not always smooth because there are bumps along the road.  Although each of my uphill adventures may not culminate to the height of a mountain with snow on top, there is a sweetness to reaching the summit of a goal.

My muffins are now waiting to be eaten and I can already taste the goodness of these treats.  Not all the varieties of muffins I bake are as sweet as these, but I will enjoy this sugary taste today.  In my life’s pilgrimage, I must also ingest and digest each experience whether it is sweet or not.

As I place my muffins in a serving basket, I realize I now have an edible pile that looks like Mt. Muffin.  The landscape is steeper and the terrain more jagged when all the muffins are accumulated in one place.  As I think about the obstacles and challenges I  encounter during my life, I realize I am climbing a mountain.  Along the way, some adventures are easier than others but the result is my living on a higher plane. Muffins and experiences pile up when placed in the basket of life!

How about you, my Reader?  Are you ready to eat a muffin or meet a mountain?  The following recipe is for the apple muffins I was baking this morning.  I am also including a few scriptures with references to mountains that you might like to read.

Joyfully,
Cheryl

Apple Muffins
1 ½ c. flour
¼ c. sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
½ c. shortening
1 egg
½ c. milk
1 grated apple

 Combine dry ingredients and set aside.  Mix shortening, egg and milk; then add to dry ingredients and stir well.  Fold in grated apple.
Divide between 12 muffin cups.  Lightly sprinkle brown sugar on top of each muffin.
Bake 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Mountain Scripturesfreemountains#2
Exodus 20:1-21 tells of Moses receiving the 10 Commandments on a mountain.
Luke 9:28-36 records the transfiguration of Jesus on a mountain.
Matthew 17:20 says that faith can move a mountain.

6 thoughts on “Mini Mountain Muffins

  1. While reading your blog I thought of this verse, “The Sovereign LORD gives me strength. He makes me sure-footed as a deer and keeps me safe on the mountains.” Hab 3:19 GNB
    Thank you for your gentle words of wisdom, and the recipe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

