Drooling for a Dumpling

Are you drooling for a dumpling, an apple dumpling that is? I remember only one time when my grandmother made these sweet treats, but they left a mouth-watering impression on me that I can still taste. I remember the dumplings being like little pillows of dough stuffed with sweet apple slices and topped with ribbons of caramel sauce. My next recollection of apple dumplings came many years later when my husband and I attended a clam bake at our church. Yes, clams and dumplings! The dessert was a whole apple wrapped in a cocoon of flaky pastry floating in a pool of caramel sauce. It was even topped with a frozen sphere of vanilla ice cream.

I guess I can make a comparison of my description of apple dumplings and of how God feels about me.  Psalm 17:8 says, “Keep me as the apple of your (God’s) eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings.”  If I am an apple in God’s eye, then I am the fruit of this dessert.  If God hides me in the shadow of his wings, then He is the pastry or dumpling that surrounds the apple.  Whether my life be whole or whether I feel like it is cut up into pieces, God is still surrounding me with his love and presence.  Even the caramel sauce reminds me of the oil of the Holy Spirit being poured out upon me.  I like these pictures!

My mind has wandered down a street of spiritual symbolism, but I guess it is time to focus again on the apple dumplings simmering in the oven.  So, my Reader, have I tantalized your taste buds for something different to eat? You will find a recipe for the apple dumplings that is similar to what we had at our church dinner listed below. I hope you will be enticed to try this tasty treat.

apple-for-autumn-2-mfApple Dumplings
Syrup:
1 c. sugar
¼ tsp. nutmeg
1 ½ c. water
3 Tbsp. margarine
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
Pastry:
2 c. flour
2/3 c. shortening
1 tsp. Salt
½ c. milk
Combine sugar, water, cinnamon and nutmeg; bring to a boil. Remove from heat; add margarine. Set aside. Combine dry ingredients; cut in shortening. Add milk all at once; mix until all sticks together. Roll out to 1/4-inch thick; cut into 5-inch squares, making 8 squares. Place a peeled and cored apple in center of each square; sprinkle with additional sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. Dot with additional margarine. Moisten and seal edges around apple. Place 1 inch apart in an ungreased pan. Pour syrup over tops. Sprinkle with more sugar. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. Serve with ice cream.
Enjoy!!
Joyfully,
Cheryl

4 thoughts on “Drooling for a Dumpling

  1. Cheryl,
    My favorite dessert is anything apple! The recipe sounds great. I remember my mom making apple dumplings many years back. I like your idea of God being like the pastry and surrounding us with His love. That gives a nice warm feeling!

Leave a Reply

