A Donkey and Me

This coming Sunday will be Palm Sunday so I decided to read about Jesus’ triumphal entry into Jerusalem in all four gospels this week.  While reading this account in the first gospel, I stopped when I read the words of Jesus in Matthew 21:2&3.  These verses tell about Jesus sending two of his disciples to Bethphage to bring him a donkey and a colt.  What caught my attention was that Jesus told these men that if they were asked why they were doing this, they were to reply that the Lord had need of them.  Also I noticed that in order to bring these animals to Jesus, they had to untie, or loose, them.  It all makes sense because if Jesus was going to ride into Jerusalem on a donkey, he had to have a donkey, and to be able to bring this donkey to Jesus, it had to be untied.  Then I asked myself, “Am I that donkey?  Am I tied up and do I need to be loosed to do what Jesus needs me to do?”  Let me explain myself a little further.

Jeremiah 29:11 is one of my favorite scriptures where God tells me that He knows the plans and purposes He has for me.  If I am to fulfill these plans, I must not be tied up with my personal agenda.  Proverbs 16:8 says, “A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.”  I must be loosed from what I might plan in my heart if I sincerely want to allow the Lord to direct my steps. Not only must I be set free, but I must allow myself to then be used in the way God desires. If the disciples were questioned about their actions, Jesus told them to respond that He had a need for the donkey.   Jesus had a plan for the donkey and he has a plan for me!.  Psalm 33:11 says, ‘the plans of the Lord stand firm forever, the purposes of his heart through all generations.”  I want to help fulfill God’s plans by doing what He needs me to do.

I must be loosed from personal bondage in order for the Lord to fulfill His plans and purposes through me. Another interesting scripture is Matthew 18:18 that informs me that “Whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.”  I wonder what might be binding me – fear, peer pressure, finances?  Does God want to set me free from something that is preventing me from being the best person I could be?   There is a connection between what I do while living on this earth and what is happening in the realm of the heavenlies.  I am sure I do not fully grasp this correlation, but I want to cooperate with God.

While reading these two passages in Matthew 21 and Matthew 18, I found another interesting connection between these two scriptures.  In the 21st chapter, Jesus sent two disciples to get the donkeys.  He did not just send one person alone.  Then in the 18th chapter verse 19, Jesus said that where two or three people agree, what they ask will be done by His Father in heaven.  Jesus even gives more assurance by saying that where two or three come together in His name, He is there with them.  God has a unique need for each one of us to fulfill his or her part of His plans and purposes, but He never leaves one person alone.  Not only is He with us, but He also surrounds us with other believers who will help us and support us.

Does this give you, my Reader, something to think about before you observe Palm Sunday in just a few days?  Shout, “Hosanna to the Son of David!”  Hosanna means save; so shout, “Save me, Jesus!”  As you praise Jesus with your hosannas, ask Him to save you and release you from any bondage in your life that is keeping you from being the person He has created you to be.  Jesus has need of you and he will be with you.  Just as Jesus rode on the back of the donkey, he will ride upon your life as you fulfill his agenda.

Joyfully,
Cheryl

free Bible#1free palmfree hands agreeing

6 thoughts on “A Donkey and Me

  1. Pingback: 3/24/2013 Blessed Is the One Who Comes | ForeWords

  2. Another so, so beautiful writing!!! Always look forward to Wednesdays when another encouraging message will be arriving. May our Lord continue to inspire you as you share your gift of writing.

  3. Pingback: A DONKEY GETS ANIMAL JACKED | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

Leave a Reply

