Birthday . . . Birthing Day

 

free baby%3Today is a milestone birthday for our son. Today is also my birthing day. I remember when the umbilical cord was cut and I was able to hold our son in my arms. I had felt his movement for several months, but this was the first time I could see him and his resemblance of his father. I could count his fingers and toes and not just feel his fist or foot jabbing into my ribs.  There was something very special about the first time I held our son as a unique little being who still depended upon me for food and care. However, the cutting of the umbilical cord was also the first letting go of the son who had grown inside of me for the last nine months. The cord was cut, but I still had my apron strings tied around him and there was a lifeline that existed between our son and me.Greg Ahlquist Headshot

God the Father said of Jesus in Mark 1:11, “You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.” I wholeheartedly agree with this statement and say to our son, “Greg, you are my son, whom I love, with you I am well pleased.” He now not only fulfills the role of being our son, but he is also a husband and father. By profession, he is an anointed teacher whether he be behind the desk in a school classroom or in the pulpit at church. Truly he is successful both in the natural and the spiritual realms. We are especially blessed by our son this year as he has been named the New York State Teacher of the Year for 2013. The Lord is using him in mighty ways whether he is traveling or speaking or attending committee meetings and conferences.  He is a positive spokesperson for  teachers, students, and education across the state. Psalm 139:16 assures me that God has written all of Greg’s days in His book and these days have been fashioned for him. If I had not been willing to let him become the godly man the Lord purposed him to become, this honor may not have been possible for him. However, whether he received state recognition or not, we are pleased when we see the man of God that Greg is today. It is not because of who I have been as a mother, but who God is as his Heavenly Father that makes all the difference. I am glad I have surrendered Greg’s life to the Lord and have not held him too tightly in my own hands. The truth of Proverbs 22:6 has been fulfilled with our son. “Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he shall not depart from it.”

free rope First the umbilical cord was cut, and then gradually I untied the apron strings from being his 24/7 mom. The amazing thing is that as I let these strings be untied, the lifeline relationship between mother and son has become even stronger. According to Ecclesiastes 4:12, “a cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”  Our cord of mother, son and the Lord has not been broken among us. Allowing the Lord to be one strand of this cord has made all the difference in our relationship.  The umbilical cord was purposely made  to be cut while the biblical cord was fashioned to remain intact.

praying-hands-5The best birthday gift I can give to our son is to unclasp the grasp of my own hands and leave him in the hands of God . I need only grasp my own hands together in prayer for him. If I held him too tightly, his life could become stagnant like a pond of water that has no fresh water moving into or out of it. I could squelch God’s grace and stagnate God’s gifts. I must allow God’s grace to flow through Greg. Grace is received, but grace must also be given away.  I annually release our son in order for him to be able to receive the birthright of blessings God has in store for him. I am blessed as I allow Greg to be a blessing.

gift-bow-mfYes, today we celebrate his birthday and we say publicly, “Happy Birthday, Son!” But in the privacy of my heart, I recall the happiness of my birthing day when this special person whom God knit together in my womb, who was fearfully and wonderfully made, made his first appearance into this world. (see Psalm 139:13,14)  I thank God for allowing me to be Greg’s mother. For this reason, I too celebrate today in a personal way.

Joyfully,
Chery
l

Remember there is a new post every Wednesday.  Subscribe to be notified by email weekly.

4 thoughts on “Birthday . . . Birthing Day

  1. Dearest Cheryl, Each one of your postings has been so inspirational, thought-provoking, and so beautifully written but this one really touched my heart having known your Greg from the day he was born and to see how God has directed his paths and used him in mighty ways not only in his profession but in all aspects of his life. TO GOD BE THE GLORY – GREAT THINGS HE HAS DONE!! Warmly wishing you and yours a most blessed Resurrection Day!!

Leave a Reply

