Ponder the Power

freeressurection Last Sunday we celebrated Easter, the resurrection of Jesus from the dead. Along with many other Christians, I proclaimed, “He is risen!  He is risen indeed!”  But do I, or you my Reader, fully comprehend the strength of the power that was exhibited by God the Father to bring His Son, Jesus, back to life after he had died on the cross?  From the human perspective, dead is dead, no life exists, and a finality occurs.  If I swat a fly, it is dead and it does not come back to life.  However, on the third day after Jesus was placed in the tomb, he was no longer in the tomb and he was alive again.

frrlightbulb What I am thinking about, and what I want you, my Reader, to think about, is that this power of God is available for us today.  Many years ago I read an article that described resurrection power as being “the electrifying power that raised Jesus from the dead.”  This brings to my mind the image of an electric light bulb.  If a lamp with a light bulb is plugged into an electrical outlet, all I need to do is turn on the switch and light appears.  However, if there is no connection to the source of the power, there will be no light.  The author of this article I read, (I’m sorry, but I do not have any record of who is the author) said that when we speak the Word of God into our lives or over a particular situation we are releasing the same power into our lives that raised Jesus from the grave.  So, my speaking aloud scripture releases God’s power into my life just as turning on the switch  gives power to light the bulb in the lamp .  If I want the power of God in my life, I must stay connected to God and His Word.  I must believe the scriptures I read to be true, speak aloud God’s Word and expect God to do what He says.  I must not waver in my faith if I expect to see manifestations of resurrection power.

 defibulatorAnother image that comes to my mind is the type of treatment used for some heart attack victims known as defibrillation.  This treatment sends a therapeutic dose of electrical energy to the damaged heart with the intent of reestablishing a normal rhythm.  I need the electrifying power of God released into my life in order for me to be functioning in alignment with God’s will.  I can only be anointed with the Lord’s power when I am doing the Lord’s will.

freelightningcracks Okay, so this power is available to me.  How do I receive this power?  What do the scriptures say that will be helpful? The first scripture that comes to mind is Philippians 3:10&11. In the NIV Paul states,I want to know Christ, and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead.”  Does this mean that Paul is setting an example through his life that I can follow in order to know this same power in my life?  I think it does! The Amplified Bible says “to know Christ” is “to progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly.”  For me to know Christ is not a one time experience, it is an ongoing revelation throughout my life! The Amplified Bible expands the meaning of “power” to be “the power outflowing from His resurrection.”  I like this concept, but do I really want to embrace what Paul says in verse 11 about my sharing in the sufferings of Christ?  Ouch!  I don’t like the thought of suffering!  However, I must admit, there are times I feel pain even though not to the extent that Paul or Christ suffered. Although my discomfort may be minimal, I realize that when I am afflicted I become aware of how helpless I truly am.  So, suffering can cause me to be more dependent upon the Lord. This is turn gives me the chance to experience more of Christ’s power in my life.

 I now come upon another scripture that is helpful to me.  Romans 8:2&11 says, “through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death.  And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit, who lives in you.” I again turn to the Amplified Bible and like verse 11, “And if the Spirit of Him Who raised up Jesus from the dead dwells in you, [then] He Who raised up Christ Jesus from the dead will also restore to life your mortal (short-lived, perishable) bodies through His Spirit Who dwells in you.”  Here is what I am looking for!  It is the work of the Holy Spirit in me who has the energizing power to restore my life to do what God desires. Thank you, Lord, for allowing me to be a recipient of this resurrection power! 

 My Reader, I hope you have followed my ponderings down the pathway to power today.   I pray you will be challenged to take the celebration of Easter and resurrection power to a deeper, more personal level throughout the coming days and weeks.  This electrifying power is not something just to be celebrated because of its manifestation in the life of Jesus, but it is something available to us through the power of the Holy Spirit in our own lives.  I encourage you to daily proclaim, “He is risen! He is risen indeed!”

 Joyfully,
Cheryl     

Challenge for the week:  Resurrection power can be manifested in various ways.  According to John 8:12, Jesus is the Light of the World.  So, stay connected to the Source in order to be able to fulfill the command given in Matthew 5:16, “Let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

