Try for Tri – Part 3

My Reader, last week I took a break from my Trinity Trilogy to honor our moms for Mother’s Day.  This week, for the last time, I am still thinking about the amazing concept of the triune nature of our God.  The first two weeks I dealt with the makeup of the Trinity, but today I am thinking about how God speaks to us concerning relationships  through the nature of the Trinity.  (If you have not read parts 1 and 2 or want to review what has been talked about, take time to scroll down to the entries for April 24 and May 1.)

I still begin with the premise that God is 3 in 1 as Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  Once again I think of Genesis 1:26 where God says “let us make man in Our image.”  I see complete cooperation among the three persons of God.  There is no sense of independence or jealousy. Here is perfect union of 3 in 1 without domination by any part of the trinity. So, by His example, what is God showing me?  I sense God is relaying to me that if He functions in unity, so must I.  My human nature is to be independent, but God desires me to be dependent.  By God’s design, I am to be dependent upon Him and upon the other people He places in my life.

 cherries-3When you look at the image for this paragraph on the right of your computer screen, what do you see?  Do you describe this as three cherries or as a bunch of cherries?  If you answer “three cherries,” you are thinking independently.  If you answer “a bunch of cherries,” you are thinking dependently.  My Reader, our tendency to think independently may be one of the reasons why it is hard for you and me to understand the concept of the Trinity. God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit blend their actions so well that it is hard to see where the function of one person ends and another begins.  There is just perfect embodiment in all respects.  In regards to the image of cherries, how do you perceive yourself?  Are you a single cherry on a tree trying to produce fruit by yourself? Or, are you one cherry held together with the other people God has placed in your life (the other two cherries) by the fingers of God (he stems of the cherries)?free rope

 Ecclesiastes 4:12 says a cord of three strands is not easily broken.  This verse is often used in the context of the relationship of husband, wife and the Lord.  However, I think it can be applied to any relationship between two people with God being the third strand. Dependence is not a lack of strength, but actually it increases strength. (Here again we have a model of the trinity.)

In his book I AM – The Unveiling of God, Steve Fry further develops this concept.  He states, “Dependence is not weakness; it is owning up to the reality of things.  It is an absolute reliance on God based not on our need alone, but on God’s design in demonstrating his glorious power.” (p. 252) He also goes on to say that such a “dependent personality” produces a person refreshingly freed from a preoccupation with himself.  He even says, “God cannot show himself powerful to those who feel adequate and whose confidence is in their own abilities.” (p. 252)

The primary reason God created you, my Reader, and me is because He desires relationship and fellowship with us.  In JTRINITY#4ohn 17:21 and 22 Jesus prays for believers asking, “that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you.  May they also be in us.”  Jesus is asking for a relationship of intimacy between God and mankind.  Now, I once again think of the triangle image of the Holy Trinity of Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  Then I think of the triangle image of the trinity within mankind of body, soul and spirit.  If I place these two triangles on top of each other (a symbol of oneness and relationship), a star is formed. It is not just any star – it is the star of David!  The star of David is a Jewish symbol and the Jewish people were God’s chosen people of the Old Testament. Here is a visual example of God’s plan for Himself and His people.  Perfect unity; perfect relationship. I was provided with an image by Symbolic Living that depicts what I was sensing the Lord was revealing to me.  You can see this image on the left of your computer screen with this paragraph.

Unity and relationship with God and all of mankind is still God’s desire. May we be reminded of this each time we see an example of the trinity. 

Let me close with one last scripture found in I Thessalonians 5:23&24 NIV.  Underlining is my choice.
May God, himself, the God of peace, sanctify you though and through.
May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless
at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.
The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.”

Joyfully,
Cheryl

Challenge for the week: Take time to deepen your relationship with the Lord and/or with another person He has placed in your life.

Question for you: Have you enjoyed the series of blogs on a specific topic or do you prefer each blog to stand alone?  I would appreciate your comments.  Thanks for taking time to respond! 

2 thoughts on “Try for Tri – Part 3

Leave a Reply

