Do You Microwave or Marinate?

Maybe I should be in the kitchen deciding what to fix for dinner this evening and not sitting at the computer microwave (MF)deciding what to blog.  Do I want to microwave or marinate either one of these tasks?  If I wait long enough to decide, I will definitely have to microwave our dinner, and I am not sure microwave speed will  result in the best blog I could write.  Our society today wants a quick fix (via microwave) for everything, including food and faith.  When we do not get what we want when we want it, we become upset with ourselves and with God.

Okay, I decided to leave the computer and head to the kitchen.  I found a marinade recipe that I put together and then marinade (MF)placed pieces of chicken in it to marinate for the next six hours or so before I grill the meat for dinner.  Marinating is a method of letting meat set in a brine of vinegar or wine or apple juice along with herbs and spices to add flavor.  It also helps to tenderize some cuts of meat.  It took a little time to prepare the marinade and it also required forethought because now I must let the food marinate for several hours.  Is it worth the time and effort?  I think so.  By dinnertime, I will definitely be glad! 

 As I was working in the kitchen, I began thinking about what to blog.  I realized there were some similarities between my two tasks for the day.  Just as some forethought and preparations were needed for our dinner this evening, forethought and preparations will benefit my blogging.  You, my Reader, and I will both reap the advantage of my thinking before I type.

I see a spiritual lesson that can be learned from microwaving and marinating as well as a cooking lesson.  When Istudy (MF) am reading God’s Word, I need to meditate upon the words or marinate in the message I read.  In order for me to get the most from my quiet time with the Lord, I must let the words of scripture seep into my spirit so they can become a part of me and influence how I live.  Most likely I will not remember what I read or be able to apply it to my life if I just read a chapter of the Bible quickly in order to say I took time with the Lord that morning. Microwaving God’s Word just does not work!  However, marinating is the way to go.

Below you will find the recipe (including apples, of course!) for the marinade for chicken or pork chops that I prepared earlier today.  By the time you, my Reader, are reading about my experiences it will be another day.Tea (DT)  Maybe I can entice you to try this recipe for your dinner this evening.  Then while your meat is marinating, why don’t you make yourself a cup of tea? You will encounter both microwaving and marinating while making a cup of tea.  You can use the microwave to get a cup of hot water in a hurry, but then you need to let the tea bag steep (or marinate) in the hot water so that the water can take on the flavor of the tea.  Now sip your tea (You want to add a few ice cubes to have iced tea since the weather is getting warmer.)  while you meditate upon a few verses of scripture that I have listed below.

Chicken with Apple Marinade
6 chicken breasts or pork chopsChix BBQ (DT)
2/3 c. apple juice
1/3 c. oil
1/4 c. fresh lemon juice
1 small onion, minced
2 tsp. dried rosemary
1/2 tsp. salt

Place meat in a single layer in a glass dish.  Combine remaining ingredients and pour over the meat.  Cover and let meat marinate in the refrigerator for at least 6 hours.  Turn occasionally.  Grill meat until fully cooked.

Scriptures for Meditation 
Each time the pronoun “you” or “yours” is used, it refers to the Lord.Bible Meditation (PD)

I will meditate on all your works and consider all your mighty deeds. – Ps. 77:12
Let me understand the teaching of your precepts; then I will meditate on your wonders. – Ps.119:27
Oh, how I love your law!  I meditate on it all day long. – Ps. 119:97golden apple #2(MF)

Joyfully,
 Cheryl

3 thoughts on “Do You Microwave or Marinate?

  1. Copied off the recipe and planning to use it sometime. Also, again was so thankful for how God is inspiring you each week by using everyday activities, just like Jesus did, to teach and encourage.

  2. I’m grateful for your encouragement to take time to marinate in the Lord and in His Word. One of the reasons I enjoy using marinades is for the added flavor. I hope that by being marinated in the Word, my life will have added flavor, too.

Leave a Reply

