3D: Divine – Dad – Day

father-and-sonSince Father’s Day is this Sunday, my title 3D refers to three words that                           
begin with the letter D referring to the meaning of this special day.  However, I also want to think about what 3D means relating to movies.  If a movie is in 3D, I am able to experience the movie by the three dimensions of width, height and depth.  The additional depth dimension makes me feel like I am in the middle of everything that is happening in the movie.  At Disney World there is an attraction known as “It’s a Bug’s Life” that is 3D.  When I am watching  this show, there is a particular time when I want to duck down in my seat to avoid being stung by a bee that is coming directly towards me.  Now, with this analogy in my mind,  I come back to the title of my blog.  Since I want to honor fathers, my choice of the words Dad and Day are very proper. But do I always remember to add the third dimension of Divine?   I have a Heavenly Father, a Divine Dad, who desires a more personal relationship with me than any relationship I might have with my biological father.  Just as the third dimension of depth adds a closeness to a movie experience, so the third dimension of divine add a more intimate father/child relationship.  Even though I want to focus upon the male member of the parent role today, I want to emphasize that you, my Reader, and I have a Heavenly Father who loves us and cares for us more deeply than any human father.  Whether 3D means width, height and depth or divine, dad and day, I am reminded of the scripture found in Ephesians 3:17-18, “And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ.” (underlining is my choice)

What I want to do now is search the scriptures for verses that specifically refer to fatherhood.  One of the first things I think about is how biblical genealogies are traced through the male family members the majority of the time.  When Matthew traces the descendants of Jesus, he lists 28 generations and all but 3 are men.

An interesting verse is found is Malachi 1:6, part of which says, “A son honors his father….If I am a father, where is the honor due me?… says the Lord Almighty.”  This emphasizes the honor that is to be given to the one fulfilling the role of a father whether it be a man or God.

As I look for further examples of the relationship between a father and child, the best example is that between Jesus and His Heavenly Father.  In John 19:3,  Jesus says, “I and the Father are one.”  Also in John 5:19-20 Jesus elaborates this fact by proclaiming, “I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does.  For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does.”

While in the Garden of Gethsemane shortly before His arrest, Jesus prays for himself, his disciples and all believers.  I quote His first words found in John 17:1, “Father, the time has come.  Glorify your Son, that your son may glorify you.” I believe Jesus addressed God in this prayer by the name that was most precious to him.  Other words of Jesus are recorded in  Luke 23:46 when Jesus calls out from the cross, “Father into your hands I commit my spirit.”

Not only does Jesus refer to God as His father, but he also refers to the fact that God is my father, as well as yours, my Reader.  I say this because of what is recorded in Matthew 5:16 when Jesus is delivering the Sermon on the Mount, “Let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.”  Jesus also encourages you and me to call upon God as our father when we pray according to Matthew 6:6, “But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen.  Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” When teaching his disciples to pray, Jesus says in Matthew 6:9, “This, then, is how you should pray:  ‘Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name’.”  (underlining my choice)

The emphasis upon God as Father may be hard for you, my Readers, to identify with because of abuse or abandonment by your biological father.  I cannot fully comprehend this because I have not experienced it, but I hope that you already have or will seriously consider developing a personal relationship with God as your Heavenly Father.  He created within you a desire for a loving and nurturing male figure in your life.  If your biological dad has not been able to provide this for you, then allow God your Heavenly Father to fill that role. He desires this kind of relationship with you and says to you according to II Corinthians 6:18,  “I will be a Father to you, and you shall be My sons and daughters.” The Lord also assures you in Jeremiah 31:3, “I have loved you with an everlasting love, I have drawn you with loving-kindness.”   I like the Lord’s words in Malachi 4:6 where He promises, “He will turn the hearts of the fathers to their children, and the hearts of the children to their fathers.”   Your Heavenly Father may help you to restore a broken relationship with your earthly father.

I have expressed many thoughts regarding fathers as a way to honor all dads this week.  Whether you are a dad or you are a child, fathers are important and I choose to show respect by honoring the role of the father whether it be fulfilled by a man, God, or both.  I want to close with one of my favorite scripture verses found in I John 3:1“How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God.

Happy Father’s Day to all earthly fathers and our Heavenly Father!

Joyfully,golden apple #2(MF)
Cheryl

One thought on “3D: Divine – Dad – Day

Leave a Reply

