“Pleasers, Please!”

Scripture: That everyone may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all his toil – this is the gift of God. – Ecclesiastes 3:13
So, whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it for the glory of God. – I Corinthians 10:31
Interpretation: Food is both satisfying to the body and a gift from God.
Application: Eating and preparing food is part of God’s plan for me. Not only is it part of His plan, but it is a gift that I must use for His glory.

 Scripture: “Everything is permissible for me” – but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible for me” – but I will not be mastered by anything.  “Food for the stomach and the stomach for food” – but God will destroy them both. – I Corinthians 6 12,13
Interpretation: Food has its positive purposes, but eating must not be an end in itself.
Application: Although eating and preparing food is part of God’s plan for me, my entire life must not be consumed by food.  I must not eat just to satisfy my craving for a particular food, but I should eat to gain energy to live my life in a way that glorifies God.

 Scripture: “My food,” said Jesus, “is to do the will of him who sent me” – John 4:34
Man does not live by bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God. – Matthew 4:4
Interpretation: Physical food is not the only kind of food available.
Application: When I do not allow my life to be focused only upon food, God will show me how His will for me involves more than eating three meals a day.

free Bible#1LOOKING BACK at the scriptures I have quoted from my Bible, I realize how eating properly glorifies God. To personally be a good steward of my body, I must eat a balanced diet of nutritious food.  As a wife, mother and grandmother, I serve not only my family, but I also serve God when I prepare healthy meals. I enjoy doing God’s will by cooking and baking, but there is more to life than just physical food. In order to completely fulfill God’s will for me, I must recall the example of Jesus who had the proper perspective between natural hunger and spiritual hunger.  In his book Desiring God, John Piper states, “Jesus cherished His Father’s will like we cherish food.”  This  is serious food for thought for me!  I pray that the food I serve to others will give nourishment to their bodies for healthy development so they will be able to fulfill the will of God in their own lives. I wish to serve God in the variety of ways He directs, and I feel providing a balanced diet for my family is one of these ways.

computerLOOKING AHEAD to the recipes in my computer file, I am now searching for a healthy snack that I can bake and have on hand when our grandchildren come to visit.  What I find is a recipe for Apple and Cheese Pleasers that I remember making as an after school treat for our son and daughter when they were growing up.  This recipe is healthy, but it also tastes good.  I originally found this recipe in a small Quaker Oats Wholegrain Cookbook and it is listed as a high protein breakfast cookie. It satisfies hunger in a healthy way as well as gratifies the desire for a little sweetness.

My Reader, I hope I can entice you to bake a batch of these cookies for a wholesome treat.  The recipe is listed below. As moms and grandmas, we have the spiritual responsibility of praying for our families, but we also have the responsibility of providing nutritious food for them.   School has started and it is apple season, so I encourage you to prepare this after school snack for those you love.  May your actions be pleasing to God as you offer kids and grandkids these Apple and Cheese Pleasers.  And, may you hear someone in your household say, “More ‘Pleasers, please!”

Portable Apple & Cheese Pleasers”
¾ c. flour
2/3 c. margarine, softened
1/3 c. brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
½ tsp. cinnamon
½ tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
1 ½ c. oatmeal, regular or quick
1 c. shredded cheddar cheese
¾ c. raisins
1 c. chopped apple

 Combine first eight ingredients in large bowl and mix well.  Add oatmeal, cheese and raisins; mix well.  Stir in apple.  Drop by heaping tablespoonful on ungreased cookie sheet.
Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or until golden brown.  Store in tightly covered container in refrigerator or in a loosely covered container at room temperature.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Joyfully,
Cheryl

Challenge for the week:  Every day eat food that will satisfy both physical and spiritual hungers.  Feed your body and your spirit.

4 thoughts on ““Pleasers, Please!”

  1. Love this Cheryl! I just pinned the recipe to my Kiddie Lunches & Snacks board on Pinterest! It’s a different combo that I hope my Olivia will enjoy!

  2. I’m looking forward to making this pleasing snack and thinking about how caring for my family pleases God. I have to admit that while my goal is to eat mindfully and to prepare healthful foods for my family, I rarely think about how this glorifies the Lord. Thank you for reminding us that we can glorify God in our eating.

Leave a Reply

