Whose House Is Being Built?

nails

Unless the Lord builds the house, the builders labor in vain. Psalm 127:1

I personally claimed this scripture four years ago when we were house hunting for our present home. With the purchase of a home being a major decision, I told the Lord I did not want any house that was not the one He wanted for us. I did not mean that the structure had to be built by the hand of God, but I wanted the foundation of our future to be built according to God’s plans and purposes.  While we had certain construction criteria for the house we would purchase regarding the type of house and how many rooms, much more was involved in my prayer.

However, my Reader, let me take you another step….

nailsUnless the Lord builds the house, the builders labor in vain. Psalm 127:1

 As I meditate upon the first verse of Psalm 127, I want to expand the potential scriptural meaning of “house.”

I believe “house” can refer to our lives.  Unless I allow God to have first place in my life, it will lack any authentic significance. The use of any of my skills, talents or gifts will be futile without His presence and anointing.  If I want the Lord to build the house of my life, I must trust Him for the structure of my future.  As I strive to build my life as being God’s house on earth, I must build it according to His pattern, not according to my human ideas or efforts.  When Moses was told to build the tabernacle in Exodus 9, God gave him specific dimensions and instructions.  God does the same for me.  I search for His blueprint for the construction of my life’s house within the scriptures of the Bible.

However, my Reader, let me take you another step….

nailsUnless the Lord builds the house, the builders labor in vain. Psalm 127:1

 When I think about a person who exemplifies this scripture in his daily life, our son-in-law, Jamey, comes to mind. The home he has built with our daughter and their family has Christ as the cornerstone.  God is the center of the relationships and activities within the four walls of their home. It is evident that God has the highest priority, and as a family, they let God be the Master Builder. This verse is uniquely applicable for Jamey Hinman because he is a real estate agent. He lists and sells homes; he is successful at it because the Lord is building his business.  God uses Jamey to help people find homes in the communities where the Lord’s plans for them can be fulfilled and He will be glorified. Jamey’s life is a construction tool for the Kingdom of God.  He helps his clients to sell and purchase houses; he nails down transactions that honor the Lord. Jamey is also co-pastor of LifeQuest Community Church.  Here too he is helping to build a House of God, and the labors of this church are not in vain. Incidentally, our son-in-law’s birthday is coming up in just a few days.  Happy Birthday, Jamey.  You are my inspiration for this blog as I watch you fulfill Psalm 127:1 as a husband, father, realtor and pastor.

However, my Reader, let me take you another step….

nails

Unless the Lord builds the house, the builders labor in vain. Psalm 127:1

 While seeking the Lord as to how to develop this blog, the Lord revealed to me how Jesus fulfills this verse.  John 14:1-6 says, Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”  Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?”  Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” In verses 1-4, Jesus is reminding His disciples about the eternal house God has built in heaven.  In verse 5, Thomas is essentially asking what he can do to build this house. Jesus’ response in verse 6 states emphatically that He is the way, and anything anyone tries to do to assure a place in this house will be done in vain.  Nails are used to build a frame house; and nails secured Jesus to the cross in order for Him to be The Way for us to our house in heaven.

However, my Reader, let me take you another step….

nailsUnless the Lord builds the house, the builders labor in vain. Psalm 127:1

My Reader, I find it hard to close a blog without leaving you with a personal question or two.  What is the all-encompassing meaning of the word “house”  for you?  What kind of houses are you building, both naturally and spiritually?  Are you permitting the Lord to build your house?  I encourage you to think about these things this week. 

Joyfully,
Cheryl

 Scripture for the week: I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.Psalm 23:6

Leave a Reply

