A Magnetic Attraction

Last spring our grandson had a head injury that required three staples to repair the wound.  My husband made the remark that he hoped Justice did not get near any magnets that would grab his head and carry him off.  Not likely to happen, but it did create an interesting picture in my mind!  All of this caused me to meditate upon the power of magnets.

magnet with credit wm According to Wikipedia, a magnet is a material or object that produces a magnetic field. This magnetic field is invisible but is responsible for the most notable property of a magnet: a force that pulls on other magnetic materials, such as iron. North and south poles exist with opposite poles attracting and similar poles repelling each other. This started me thinking about my relationship with the Lord.  I am made in the image of God, so we are both examples of  magnetic materials. God is spirit and I am flesh, so in that respect we are the opposite poles of a magnet. To make another analogy, God is invisible like the magnetic field, but the effects of my being drawn to Him are evident just like the effect between a magnet and a nail.

 magnet with credit wmOne of my favorite devotional books is Jesus Calling by Sarah YoungIn her entry for March 21, she writes as though the voice of Jesus is saying, “My Power is absolutely unlimited!  Human weakness consecrated to Me, is like a magnet, drawing My Power into your neediness.”  She goes on to say that fear can block the flow of the Lord’s strength into us. However, if we trust and not fear, there is no limit to how much God can strengthen us. I think of the words of Paul, But he (the Lord) said to me, My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me….For when I am weak, then I am strong. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” II Corinthians 12:9&10  I see how if I let my weakness be attracted to God’s strength, I can be attached to Him in such a way that His strength moves into me.  I must realize I can only do things through Christ who gives me strength because He is omnipotent.  I can do everything through him (Christ) who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13  My power, or at least what I think is power, and God’s power actually repel each other.  If I want to do something under my power, God will let me try.  He only intervenes when I surrender to my shortcomings. At that time, His strength is drawn to my weakness. Now there is another property of magnets that I need to consider.  If a nail is attached to a magnet for a long time, the nail will become magnetized.  The longer the nail is attached to the magnet, the stronger its magnetism becomes.  The same is true for me.  The longer I stay in communion with God, the stronger His power becomes in me.

magnet with credit wm A scripture verse that gives me a good visual picture of a piece of iron being pulled to a magnet is in the epistle of James. Draw near to God and he will draw near to you. James 4:8  However, this verse also causes me to ask a question.  Knowing that I am weak, why am I drawn to Jesus?  Most likely my first answer is because He will give me strength.  This has been the focus regarding the scriptures I have quoted so far. However, now I ask another question: Why is the Lord attracted to me?  The answer is because He loves me. I am again reminded of something I have read.  In Steve Fry’s book I AM (p. 229-231), he talks about how God uses our weakness to draw us to Himself. Yes, God does give us strength and power, but the primary reason God draws us to himself is because He loves us and wants to spend time with us.  I must remember to seek God’s face and not just His hands. Unfortunately, most of us tend to be users of God and not lovers of God.

magnet with credit wmOut of love God draws me to Himelf, and because of love He shares His power with me.  I sincerely want to be attracted to the Lord in order to give Him my love as well as to receive His love.  To continue my magnetic symbolism, I see my hands raised in praise to the Lord while His hands are extended down towards me.  Between us is a magnetic field just like that between the north and south poles of magnets.  As I worship God with my hands upraised,I am also surrendering my weak hands into His strong hands.  I want to be drawn to the compassionate power of God.  I do not want to be attached to the Lord just so He can give me power. I want to be aligned with Him because of the joy and love His presence imparts to me. I agree with David and Nehemiah.    In your (the Lord’s)  presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. – Psalm 16:11 NKJV and The joy of the Lord is your ( my own) strength. Nehemiah 8:10 NKJV   I  become magnetized to the Lord as I magnify the Lord!

 Let me close, my Reader, by asking you, “To what or whom are you attracted? – Why?”

 Joyfully,golden apple #2(MF)
Cheryl

Leave a Reply

