Apple Pies and Apple Seeds

APPLE LATTICE PIE BAKED IN AN APPLEapple-pie
Ingredients:
4
large Granny Smith apples
1 (21 ounce) can apple pie filling
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 (14.1 ounce) package Pillsbury rolled pie crust (use just 1 of the 2 crusts in the box)

 Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Slice the top off each of your apples and scoop out the inside of the apple. I used a knife and a spoon to hollow out the apple.
3. In a small bowl, mix the apple pie filling with the cinnamon. Spoon the filling into the well of each apple.
4. Unroll one pie crust and cut it into fourths; one for each apple. Then cut each quarter into 1/4-inch strips.
5. Lay strips of the dough on top of the apple. Then take one new strip at a time and alternate weaving it over and under the pie strips already in place. Repeat until the top of the apple has been covered. Trim excess pie crust around the edges with a knife.
6. Place apples in a baking dish and fill with 1/4-inch of water. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until crust if golden brown. Remove from baking dish and enjoy.

APPLE SEEDSapple seeds
I found this recipe online and thought it was a unique way to make individual apple pies.  I hope you try it and like it.  However, what I now want to share with you pertains to something one throws away when making these apple pies, specifically the seeds.

Robert Schuller has said, “Anyone can count the seeds in an apple, but only God can count the number of apples in a seed.” If I were to make the recipe for the apple pies baked in an apple, I know I would not take time to count how many seeds I discarded.  I would make sure I got out all the seeds, but they would not be numbered.  However, I want to think about this from God’s perspective.  God created everything, including apple seeds and apples.  He knows not only how many seeds are in an apple, but also how many apples will be produced from each seed within each apple. If God knows and cares about each apple seed, how much more does He care about me? (I Peter 5:7)  One scripture that reveals to me how much personal attention God gives me is Matthew 10:30.  It informs me that God has the hairs on my head numbered.  I think God must be in the counting business!  Hmmm…  God is concerned about apple seeds, hair, and me!   God intensely and immensely cares about everyone and everything.  I may give no thought to how many apple seeds I am throwing out, but God does!

What is the importance of seeds and why does God keep track of the number of apples found in each individual seed?   Mark 4:1-20 is the parable of the sower and verse 14 defines the seed as being the Word of God.  In fact, there are forty-four verses in the New Testament where the Greek word “sperma” is translated “seed.” This is the same word from which we derive our English word “sperm.”  So, I see that there is life in the Word and there is life in the seed.  I Peter 1:23 says, “For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God.” When I study the Word, I am putting the life of God inside of me. The Word grows as a seed in my life and I will produce fruit.  No wonder God keeps track of seeds!

I may discard the seeds of an apple when I am making these little apple pies, but I do not  want to disregard scriptural seeds.  I will plant the seed of His Word in the soil of my heart and let it grow and produce and reproduce fruit for the Kingdom of God.  I most likely will never know how much spiritual fruit is produced in the lives of other people because of the seeds of God’s Word I have planted into the lives of those around me.  Only God will know the number of apples, or fruit, that will come from seeds I plant, but that is okay!  All I do, I want to do for the glory of God. I am accountable to God, but God is the one who counts the seeds and the apples.

My Reader,  if you make these little Apple Lattice Pies in an Apple, you may throw away the seeds.  However, let the seed of God’s Word grow in you and do not toss out these seeds.  Let the spiritual seeds yield fruit of faith in yourself and those around you.  Bake a spiritual pie as well as an apple pie.  There are physical and spiritual appetites to be fed.  Only God needs to know the true harvest.

Joyfully,golden apple #2(MF)
Cheryl  

 Challenge for the week: If you are blessed by this blog, plant some spiritual seeds into the life of a friend by passing along this website.  Remember, there is a new post every Wednesday.

           

2 thoughts on “Apple Pies and Apple Seeds

Leave a Reply

