Prayer Talk

prayer- hands mfLike most days, I started today talking with the Lord in prayer.  However, now I am thinking about the whole concept of prayer.  How do I perceive prayer in contrast to what God designed prayer to be? Yes, I include praise and thanksgiving in my prayers, but there are times when I hurry through this portion of my praying so that I can present the Lord with my needs and the needs of others.  My tendency can be to allow prayer to become a grocery list of requests rather than a two-way conversation with the Lord. I tend to limit God because of my limited concept of prayer.  Is it not amazing that God who is so high bowed so low in order for me to be able to draw near to Him in prayer?  This fact in itself should cause me to bow my head and heart in prayer.  God loves me so much that He wants to have an intimate conversation with me through prayer!  He wants me to talk to Him, but He also wants to talk to me.  Actually, God most likely wants to answer my prayers more than I want to take the time to pray the prayers.  He wants to bless me with His presence and His voice.

 My Reader, my desire today is to share two kinds of statements with you in the form of couplets.  The first statement will help us grasp a better understanding of what prayer can be through the words of people.  The second statement is from scripture which is God’s Word, God speaking to us Himself, revealing His desire for prayer.  I pray these thoughts will help you in your personal prayer life.

You cannot find time for prayer, you have to make time for prayer.”
by Josiah Cruz
Be earnest and unwearied and steadfast in your prayer {life}, being {both} alert and intent in {your praying} with thanksgiving.
Colossians 4:2 Amp.

 The secret of praying is secret prayer –  an invitation to love Him more…
to go more deeply into His heart.”
by Lenard Ravenhill
But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father,
who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.
Matthew 6:6

Praying helps me remember that the Lord is in charge.
from A Light to My Path by Lynn Austin
Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening.
I Samuel 3:9

All prayer is to change the human will into submission to the divine will.”
by Frederick W. Robertson
In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what
we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.
Romans 8:26

“My mother said that if there are any tears shed in heaven, they are going to be shed
over all the answers to prayer for which no one ever bothered to ask!
What blessing is God waiting to give you, but you haven’t asked Him for it?”
by Anne Graham Lotz
Be earnest and unwearied and steadfast in your prayer {life}, being
{both} alert and intent in {your praying} with thanksgiving.
Colossians 4:2 Amp.

The answer to prayer depends on the faithfulness and power of the One
who hears the prayer, not of the one who prays the prayer.
by Ann Voskamp
Lord, let your ear be attentive to the prayer of this your servant
and to the prayer of your servants who delight in revering your name.
Nehemiah 11:1

Spiritual lust makes me demand an answer from God,
instead of seeking God who gives the answer….
The meaning of prayer is that we get hold of God, not the answer.
Oswald Chambers
Hear, O Lord, when I cry with my voice, and be gracious to me and answer me.
 When Thou didst say, “Seek My face,”
my heart said to Thee, “Thy face, O Lord, I shall seek.”
Psalm 27:7-8

Don’t waste time worrying – spend time praying.  If I start thinking bad things
or being afraid and worrying, then I know it is time to start praying.”
from A Light to My Path by Lynn Austin
Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6-8

As I contemplate on what I have learned about prayer, I come to the conclusion that when I pray I am acknowledging that God is in control and that He is with me.  I also realize that prayer is having faith to ask God for something. If I did not believe that God would listen and answer me, why would I bother to pray?  However, I can say with David in Psalm 34:4, “I sought the Lord, and he answered me.”  I believe in prayer, and I believe it to be more than a grocery list of needs.  My Reader, I want to close with a challenge for you with a quote by Ann Voskamp, “Imagine if each time you had the urge to text, tweet, email, log onto Facebook, or phone a friend to share some heartfelt need, you stopped and prayed instead.  Really prayed, trusting God to answer.”  Try it this week!

Joyfully,
Cheryl

3 thoughts on “Prayer Talk

  1. I love the uniquely individual perspectives on prayer you include. There are so many ways to converse with God! I think He must love the sound of us calling His name.

  2. Pingback: Patience for Prayer | Notes from a Southern Kitchen

Leave a Reply

