Slow Down!

yellow light mgAll of us will soon be involved with the busy season between the holidays of Thanksgiving and Christmas. As much as I enjoy this time of year, I need to have the right mindset in order to keep everything in perspective.  I need a flashing yellow light in my life reminding me to slow down. Originally the middle yellow light of the traffic signal meant for drivers to slow down and be ready to stop when the light turned red. Unfortunately, today many people either ignore the warning or interpret the yellow light to mean hurry up.  Hurrying up can be my tendency during the upcoming busy season.  I tend to think I have too much to do to set aside time to be alone with the Lord.  However, the truth of the matter is that if I take time to slow down and sit at the feet of Jesus, when I get up I my feet will move faster and accomplish more than if I tried to do everything under my own power. God’s blessings can flow into my life only when I take time to be in His presence.  I need a yellow light and I need to heed its warning with the proper interpretation.

I should follow the example set for me by my slow cooker that is currently preparing our dinner for this evening.  Earlier this morning I followed the directions of the recipe listed below for a pork roast.  Now the meat must slowly cook in the slow cooker for the next 6-8 hours.  During that time, the meat will become more tender and the flavors of all the ingredients will blend together nicely.  Slow cooking allows time for the flavors of all ingredients to be incorporated into the meat. Spiritually, what may be happening is that when God appears to be working at a slow pace in a situation in my life, He really is blending together circumstances not only for me but for others around me as well.  Not only do I need to take time to read God’s Word, but I need to look for a way to apply the scriptures to my life during the next 6-8 hours while our dinner is cooking in the slow cooker or crock pot. This way I will fully benefit from my quiet time with the Lord.  The words of scripture must seep into my spirit so they can be become a part of me and how I live.

I just checked on my slow cooker and I noticed something.  On the front of the crock pot there are three little lights.  Red shows when the crock pot is turned off.  Yellow shines when it is cooking on a slower speed while a green color is emitted when it is cooking faster.  This takes me back to my original analogy of the traffic light and the meaning of the yellow color. Hmmm, I guess the Lord wants me to get the message to slow down!

I hope you will try the following recipe for pork roast with apples.  It does take time to make, but the tenderness of the meat and the flavors of the whole dish are worth it.  I also  encourage you to take time to slow down on a daily basis and allow for some quiet time with the Lord.  I have learned that doing so makes my heart more tender to the Lord and more patient with other people.

slow cooker wmPork Roast with Apples
In the evening:
Season 3-6 pound pork roast with salt, pepper and garlic.  Wrap in clear plastic wrap and refrigerate over night.

In the morning:
Lightly brown the pork roast with garlic in an electric skillet.  Then place meat in a crock pot with 2 apples peeled and cut into chunks, 1 orange sliced but not peeled, ¼ cup orange juice, and ¼ c brown sugar.

Cook in crock pot on medium heat 6-8 hours.

Remove meat and discard orange slices.  Place remaining meat juices and apples in a sauce pan.   Mash the apples and then heat to make a sauce.  You may add water to thin the sauce or corn starch to thicken it according to your desire.

Slice meat to serve.  You can serve the sauce on top of the meat or in a gravy boat to be passed separately.

Joyfully,
Cheryl

yellow complete wmScripture for the week: “But those who wait (yellow light – slow down) on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run (green light – go) and not be weary (red light – stop), they shall walk (green light – go) and not faint (red light – stop).  –  Isaiah 40:31 with my additions and adaptations.

Leave a Reply

