The Rope of Hope

 

The Rope of Hope

hope-rope-2-mf

free-ropeA couple of weeks ago I awoke in the night and had trouble going back to sleep.  My mind started going a hundred miles a minute in directions it should not have traveled.  Before I got back to sleep, I had a pity party with me, myself and I. I even began to feel depressed.  The next morning, I began my day as usual by reading the daily devotional by Sarah Young in Jesus Calling.  She writes as if Jesus were talking directly to you, and this morning Jesus was definitely speaking to me.  Listen to some of the words I read: “Hope in Me and you will be protected from depression and self-pity.  Hope is like a golden cord connecting you to heaven.  The more you cling to this cord, the more I bear the weight of your burdens; thus, you are lightened.”  The Lord knew what I had experienced during the night and He was giving me the solution to resolve my negative thoughts and feelings.  God is good!

This led me to a scriptural study of the word “hope” that I found very interesting.  My Reader, let me share some of my insights with you.  According to the Word Wealth notations in The Spirit Filled Life Bible, there are two different words in the Bible that have been translated hope. Tiqvah is the Hebrew word and  elpis is the Greek word.

hope-rope-3-mfThe original meaning of “tiqvah” is “to stretch like a rope” and can be translated line or cord. This reminds me of the story of Rahab in Joshua 2 where she used a rope or cord to let down the Israelite spies from her house and allowed them to escape.  In Joshua 2:18, the spies instructed her to tie a scarlet cord (tiqvah) in the window as her hope for rescue for when they would come back to take this land. The promise is fulfilled in Joshua 6 when her life is saved during the conquest of Jericho.  For me, this rope or cord is a picturesque description of the rope of hope!  The definition of hope (tiqvah) is expectation or something yearned for and eagerly anticipated.

rpoe-in-heart-mfThe Word Wealth for the Greek word “elpis” says that hope is not just an optimistic outlook or wishful thinking without any foundation, but portrays a confident expectation based on solid certainly.  Biblical hope rests on God’s promises, particularly those promises pertaining to Christ’s return.  This notation distinguishes between faith and hope by saying, “Hope is never inferior to faith, but is an extension of faith. Faith is the present possession of grace; hope is confidence in grace’s future accomplishment.”  I want to grasp the rope of hope when I grasp this interpretation of  “elpis.”

hope-rope-7-mfA friend and I are doing a book study entitled Cast of Characters Lost and Found by Max Lucado.  He talks about hope in a couple of chapters of this book.  When I think back to my experience of feeling hopeless during the night, I identify with one concise comment Max Lucado makes: “Hope hibernates.”  This is reassuring to me because I realize hope lives deep within my spirit even though I may not always feel the most hopeful.  God understands my meandering mind in the middle of the night, and that is why He gave me such a powerful word of hope the next morning!  Another statement I underlined in Max Lucado’s book says, “Hope doesn’t promise an instant solution but rather the possibility of an eventual one.”  In most instances, I would prefer an immediate solution but hope keeps me going until a solution is realized.

free-ropeIf hope is going to keep me going until I experience a solution, then I need to make myself a rope of hope!  Sarah Young’s words said that I am to hold on to a golden cord of hope that will allow the Lord to bear the biggest portion of my burden.  So, how do I make or where do I find this golden rope of hope?  The Bible is the correct answer.  My rope of hope is made of strands of scripture woven together for strength.  Some of the scriptures are verses that include the word “hope” and other verses are promises that pertain to a specific situation for which I need hope.  The makeup of my rope of hope changes from time to time. My Reader, I encourage you to make your personal rope of hope.  I will include a few scriptures relating to hope that are a part of my rope and may be helpful to you.  Then intertwine your favorite verses into your rope of hope that will keep you connected to the Lord.

For You are my hope, O Lord God.
Psalm 7:5
Be joyful in hope, patient in affection, faithful in prayer.
Romans 12:12
your work of faith, labor of love, and patience of hope in our Lord Jesus Christ
  I Thessalonians 1:3
(hope entails time and work – it is not always easy)
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.
Romans 15:13
So let us seize and hold fast and retain without wavering the [a]hope we cherish and confess and our acknowledgement of it, for He Who promised is reliable (sure) and faithful to His word.
Hebrews 10:23 AMP

I am holding tight to my rope of hope! I encourage you will do the same.

Joyfully,
Cheryl

Leave a Reply

