Everything Has a Season, including Baking

To everything there is a season,
A time for every purpose under heaven
Ecclesiastes 3:1

apple-blossoms-mfEverything has a season, including the changing of seasons. I am thankful spring has finally arrived! Everything has a season, including the fruits available during a particular time period. Apple trees may blossom this time of year but it is not the best season to be eating apples straight from the tree. However, I have a few apples left over that need to be used. Near the end of apple season, I realize that apples are not as tasty just eaten raw so I looked through my recipes and found an old recipe of my mother’s for apple cake. It seems like a good way to use the apples in the refrigerator.

doughWhile stirring up the cake, my thoughts turned towards a spiritual application. The baked cake is symbolic of my life that is made up of various ingredients each day. Just as flour has a bland taste but many uses, I recognize that my day includes multiple mundane household chores that routinely need to be done. Bland and mundane are good words to describe one of the primary ingredients in a cake as well as routine housework. Sugar and oil add sweetness and moistness to a cake. Spiritually speaking, these ingredients remind me of the sweetness of God’s Word and the anointing oil of the Holy Spirit. While cinnamon adds a special flavor to a cake, it also emphasizes  that spice is added to my life as I randomly do unexpected activities. The cake would not rise if soda were not an ingredient. Personally, words of encouragement help me to arise to circumstances I encounter. While salt helps to bring out the flavor of the cake batter, Jesus tells me that I am to be the salt of the earth. I do not want to lose my saltiness! As I think about the taste of salt I am reminded of the salty taste of tears. I must not be discouraged if some tears are mixed into my day because they will add a unique flavor to my life. An egg in a cake helps all the ingredients hold together. Maybe the egg of my life is prayer that helps hold my daily activities together. I must not forget to add the fruit of the apple to my cake or it will not be an apple cake. Neither must I forget to add the fruit of the Spirit to myself. Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness and self-control are imperative for me to live the way I desire and God desires. Nuts are optional but they do add texture and taste to a cake. I guess it doesn’t hurt for me to be a little “nutty” to add some humor to my day. After all ingredients are combined, the cake needs to be baked if it is to be edible.  I must trust that God will use the heated times of my day to produce the product He desires.

For everything there is a season, including the activities and emotions of everyday life. According to Romans 8:28, I know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him and have been called according to his purpose. This includes all the seasons of my life. Just as a cake needs a variety of ingredients, so does my life require diversity. My day-to-day existence should not always be the same. I must allow God to mix up my daily responsibilities just like I mix up a cake. I want to taste and see that the Lord is good by the end of each day whether it relates to the taste of a cake or the outcome of my obligations and opportunities.

My Reader, remember that “For everything there is a season” in your life. Maybe you want to follow the recipe below and bake this apple cake. You can enjoy a piece of it while you reflect upon the current season of your life. Also keep in mind that it is April and it is spring according to the seasons of the year. Appreciate all the seasons offered to you in various ways.

Joyfully,
Cheryl

This week: Read Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 to find out the seasons of life noted by Solomon.

Easy Apple Cake
2 c. raw apples peeled and diced
1 egg
1 c sugar
½ c. oil
1 c. flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. soda
½ tsp. salt
1 c . nuts chopped

Break the egg into the apples. Stir in the sugar and the oil. Combine the flour, cinnamon, soda and salt together and add to the apple mixture. Add the nuts and mix thoroughly. Bake in a 350 degree oven 45 minutes in a 9×9 pan. Serve with whipped topping if desired.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

