For an Audience of One

pink-flowerAn Audience of One


Envision with me an old ornate concert hall with row upon row of plush seats filling the balcony, mezzanine and main levels.  At the front of the auditorium, there is a stage surrounded with velvet curtains with a grand piano center stage.  A concert pianist takes her seat and performs a repertoire of Bach, Beethoven and Brahms.  Her talented fingers move easily up and down the keyboard producing beautiful music.  Her eyes are blinded by the bright spotlights so she is unaware of the number of seats occupied for her recital.  She is not concerned because she is confident her talent is worthy of a large audience.  However, when she concludes  her performance there is the applause of only one person.

Reality causes confusion in her mind.  Why has she just performed for an audience of one?   I reflect, how would I feel if this were me?   My Reader, how would you, feel if this were you?

pink-flowerAn Audience of One
In all your ways acknowledge him (the Lord) – Proverbs 3:6
Commit to the Lord whatever you do – Proverbs 16:3
Commit your way to the Lord – Psalm 37:5

 One person can paint a field of flowers for display in a gallery where hundreds of people will see it, while I may only pick a single flower and give it to a lonely neighbor. Both actions are important when done as unto the Lord – when done for an audience of One.   A teacher can prepare a lesson to share with a dozen or more students, yet only one person may attend the class.  That is okay if it is done unto the Lord – done for an audience of One.  Maybe the message of this lesson is a divine appointment for a particular person.  One person or a hundred and one people, it does not matter if the action is done for an audience of One, namely God.  I must remember that who is in the audience is more important than how many are in the audience.

pink-flowerAn Audience of One
After he (Jesus) had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray.  When evening came, he was there alone. – Matthew 14:23
Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed. – Luke 5:16
He (Jesus) withdrew about a stone’s throw beyond them knelt down and prayed. – Luke 22:41

God the Father was the audience of One for Jesus when He prayed.  The Father listened attentively to the words of His Son because what Jesus said was important to Him.  Mathematically, 1+1=2, but spiritually for God the Father and Jesus the Son 1+1=1.  Jesus says in John 5:19&20, “the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does. For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does.” In John 10:10, Jesus also says, “I and the Father are one.” This was possible because each was an Audience of One to the other.

 God listening to the prayers of Jesus is one example of an audience of One. God calling such men as Abraham, Moses, Samuel and Isaiah is another example of an audience of one. I believe that each of these men had a one on one conversation with the Lord when He revealed His specific plan to each individual. Each of these men became a spokesman for a large audience, the nation of Israel, but I think each man would have been obedient to the call of God even if he had only been asked to serve an audience of One, namely God.  I like the scripture in Psalm 99:6 saying, “Moses and Aaron were among his priests, Samuel was among those who called on his name; they called on the Lord and he answered them.”  Not only did God personally call each man, but He also allowed each of them the privilege of an audience of One when they prayed to Him.

pink-flowerAn Audience of One
Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise – Psalm 100:4
the Lord inhabits the praises of his people –Psalm 22:3 New American Standard
Come to me, … and I will give you rest. – Matthew 11:28
Come near to God and he will come near to you. – James 4:8

 As I read these scriptures, I realize God is willing to make me His audience of one if I am willing to take the time to seek Him as my audience of One.  He listens to my prayers just as sincerely as He listened to the prayers of Jesus.   He can extend His call to me just as well as He called Abraham (Genesis 12:1-3), Moses (Exodus 3), Samuel (I Samuel 3) and Isaiah (Isaiah 6).  I desire to listen for the still small voice of God as He may be seeking me to be His audience of one right now. 

If God allows me to be an audience of one before Him, then I must be content to live my life for Him alone, my Audience of One.  As long as God is pleased with what I say or do, nothing else matters.  As long as I hear His voice, no other words are important. To Him, and Him alone, be all the glory and power and praise! 

Joyfully,
Cheryl

gold apple new

Question for the week:  Who is in your audience?

Leave a Reply

