Sip a Spiritual Float

root beer float - rose

root beer float - roseRecently, I had a Grammy-Granddaughter Day with Grace and we wanted a special treat in the middle of the afternoon. We decided to have root beer floats. She got two glasses, one for each of us, while I got the vanilla ice cream. I scooped the ice cream into each glass and then we carried our glasses along with a can of root beer to the table on the deck. When Grace first added root beer to her ice cream, her glass overflowed because she poured too much too fast. We learned to be more careful and enjoyed our time together as well as our floats. We even talked about some spiritual symbolism relating to our glasses filled with ice cream and root beer. We concluded that the glass represents a person’s life while the ice cream symbolizes the sweetness of Christ. Finally, the effervescence of the root beer exemplifies the power of the Holy Spirit.

root beer float - roseEach of us starts life with empty spaces to be filled according to choices we make. When a person asks Jesus into his or her heart, it is like putting ice cream into an empty glass. When my granddaughter and I started to make our floats, we did not put the ice cream into dirty glasses. Same thing applies spiritually. A person needs to confess one’s sins in order to be clean on the inside and out so Jesus can abide in one’s heart. I John 1:9 says, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”

root beer float - rose Ice cream in a glass is good but there is room for something else. The Lord also has more for us in addition to giving Jesus a place in our lives. Ephesians 5:18 says, “be filled with the Spirit.” So, that is the next addition. A person can be filled with the Holy Spirit just like a glass can be filled with root beer. It is interesting to note that the meaning of “being filled with the Spirit” in Ephesians refers to a continual infilling. Just like Grace and I added more root beer to our floats little by little, the Holy Spirit continues to fill us with His presence and power. It is not a one time infilling. Romans 5:5 states, “God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.” I like the image of love being poured into our hearts in comparison to pouring root beer into the glass. Another scripture that I like is Acts 13:52 that says, “And the disciples were filled with joy and with the Holy Spirit.” When we are filled with the Holy Spirit, we experience pleasure just like my granddaughter and I enjoyed our floats. Well, there is a difference between spiritual joy and physical joy, but we did see a similarity. When we are filled with the Holy Spirit, we experience love and joy and power. I like the comparison of the root beer to the Spirit because the effervescence of the soda reminds me of the power imparted to us by the Holy Spirit. Not only are we fully filled but we are filled to overflowing just like what happened when Grace first poured the root beer into her glass of ice cream too quickly.

root beer float - rose When my granddaughter and I finished our floats, we were full.  This reminds me of Psalm 16:1 which says, “In your (the Lord’s) presence is fullness of joy.”  Just like our glasses being full of ice cream and root beer, so are our lives full of joy when we fill our lives with the presence of Jesus and the Holy Spirit. Psalm 126:3 declares, “The Lord has done great things for us, and we are filled with joy.” The Lord does great things for us by providing us with His strength and power to fulfill or fill full our lives according to His plans and purposes. My granddaughter and I thought our floats were great while we drank them, but that pleasure was miniscule compared to the joy the Lord imparts to us because of His love for us. For myself, I prefer being filled with the joy of the Lord rather than just being filled with a root beer float. I am hungry for the presence of the Lord. I want to drink in the goodness of the Lord and be mindful of all the great things He does for me daily. I desire to be in His presence where I can experience the fullness of joy.

root beer float - rose My Reader, have I instilled within you a hunger and thirst for a root beer float? I hope I have also instilled in you a thirst for Jesus and the Holy Spirit within your life. Why not make yourself a float to enjoy while you take time to be filled with the love and joy and power that the Spirit desires to share with you? Remember, your life is the glass, Jesus is the ice cream and the Holy Spirit is the root beer. Be filled with the presence of the Lord and float in His joy!

 Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

