I AM – i am

 

Jehovah-shalom…………… Jehovah-shammah……………  Jehovah- sabaoth
I am the Bread of Life………I am the Resurrection and the Life…….. I am the Bread of Life

God said to Moses, “I am who I am.
This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I am has sent me to you.’”
Exodus 3:14

This scripture has always been one of my favorites because it is such an all-inclusive name for God.  God is the I AM – and that cannot be proclaimed by anyone else! Personally, I often like to think about this name of God as being an open-ended statement that I can complete to meet my personal need at a specific time.  When I do this, I realize I am seeking God’s presence according to a specific attribute, but it also allows me to visualize God as being the One who meets my need at that time.  Paul says in I Corinthians 15:10, “by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace to me was not without effect.”  Combining the statements in Exodus 3 and I Corinthians 15, I come to the conclusion that “i am what i am because I AM is I AM.”  My Reader, I want to make a few applications regarding this with you and me, but before I do that allow me to give you some biblical background.

In Exodus 6:3 God tells Moses “I am the Lord.” Lord is the English translation of Jehovah, the Old Testament covenant name of God.  Jehovah is the most sacred name of God in the Old Testament and is a form of the verb “to be, to become.”  Now hear what is found in Exodus 3:14: God said to Moses, “I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I am has sent me to you.’”  Whenever a Jehovah compound name is used, it is God revealing some aspect of who He is.  For example, Jehovah-Jireh means “the Lord will provide” or God is saying “I AM your provision.”

In John 8:58 Jesus says, “before Abraham was born, I am!”  Here is Jesus identifying with God as Jehovah of the Old Testament.  In the gospel of John, there are eight “Jehovistic names” of Jesus when Jesus uses “I am” statements such as “I am the Bred of Life” found in John 6:35.

My Reader, I hope you are still with me because now we are going to apply this knowledge to our daily lives.  What I want to do next is to show you how we can personally claim a scripture verse as our own and make an “I am” statement exclusive for ourselves at any given moment.  As I make the statements below, I will use capital letters (I AM) when referring to Jehovah God and Jesus and will use lower case letters (i am) when referring to myself.

I AM Jehovah-rapha
is expressed by the Lord in Exodus 15:26, “I am the Lord, who heals you.”
and Matthew 4:23 states that Jesus healed every disease and sickness among the people,
therefore
i am healed
because Isaiah 53:5 prophecies that “by his (Jesus) wounds we are healed.”

I AM Jehovah-raah
is expressed by David in Psalm 23:1, “The Lord is my shepherd.”
I AM the good shepherd
is proclaimed by Jesus in John 10:11
therefore
i am a sheep
because Isaiah 53:6 says, “each of us has turned to our own way;
and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all.”
and because Jesus says in John 10: 27 says, “My sheep listen to my voice;
I know them, and they follow me.”

I AM the light of the world
is proclaimed Jesus in John 8:12
therefore
i am a light in the world
because Matthew 5:16 says, “Let your light shine before others, that they
may see your good deeds  and glorify your Father in heaven.”

The key to remember when claiming the attributes and character of God for ourselves is that God is sovereign and He chooses how He reveals His nature to us and at what time our declaration is fulfilled.

My Reader,  I want to share one more thing with you.  I notice that God refers to Himself as “I AM,” not as “I was” or “I shall be.”  His name says, “I always have been, I always am, and I always will be.” The presence of our God is for the present moment.  Yes, He has been with me in the past and I know He will be with me in the future, but now is the most important time.  Yesterday is the “now” of the past and tomorrow is the “now” of the future.  Hebrews 13:8 says, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.”  That validates the statement that God is “I am who I am.”

Joyfully,   
Cheryl
gold apple new

Challenge for the week:  At the top and bottom of this blog you will find various I AM names for Jehovah and Jesus in blue.  You might enjoy learning more about these names on your own.

Jehovah-shalom……………Jehovah-shammah…………… Jehovah- sabaoth
I am the Bread of Life………I am the Resurrection and the Life…….. I am the Bread of Life

Leave a Reply

