Sitting in the Sonshine

sunshine Our daughter has always been drawn to sunshine. I remember her lying in the sun on the front step while she was growing up. She always said the warmth of the sun felt so good. Her skin tanned beautifully and she never burned. However, now we know that sun bathing can cause skin cancer. She still enjoys the sun and spends time in the pool with their children, but she also uses sunscreen. Too much sunshine is not good for us but we can never get too much Sonshine. Today I am comparing physical sunshine from the big star in the sky with spiritual Sonshine from Jesus, the Son of God.

 Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips;
meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do
everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.
Joshua 1:8

sunshineIn the first chapter of Joshua, the Lord appoints Joshua to lead of the Israelites into the Promised Land after the death of Moses. The Lord reminds Joshua to continually mediate upon His Word found in the Law in order for him to succeed with his task. Joshua had to remember the directives previously given in the Law and not only know about the Law. Now I think about how Jill would lie in the sun for an extended time resulting in her soaking up the sun’s rays into her body. For maximum benefit from the sun, she did not just occasionally go for a walk on a sunny day. I also remember that when Jill would lie in the sun, she would usually have her eyes closed – she was resting in the sun. When I meditate upon the attributes o the Son of God, it is beneficial for me to close my eyes and shut out the distractions of what is happening around me. I need to remember that in order for me to internalize the revelation of who God’s Son is, I need to spend quiet time meditating upon specific scriptures. I will not soak up the deep messages of God’s written Word if I simply read a chapter in a few minutes. Joshua was told to meditate upon God’s Word day and night; maybe I should do the same. I desire to soak in the Son’s presence more than I want to soak in the sun.

 They asked each other, “Were not our hearts burning within us
while he talked with us on the road and opened the Scriptures to us?”
Luke 24:32

sunshine Luke 24:13-43 relates the story of two disciples encountering Jesus on the Road to Emmaus. During their conversation with Jesus, the disciples did not know who He was. It was only after Jesus had broken bread with them and He had disappeared that the disciples knew who had been with them. After their eyes are opened to the reality of the situation, they  comment that their hearts had felt strangely warmed. Once again, I think of Jill lying in the sun absorbing the warmth of the sunshine. Warmth feels good whether it be a physical or a spiritual warmth. However, I think spiritual warmth lasts longer than physical warmth.

 When Moses came down from Mount Sinai with the two tablets
of the covenant law in his hands, he was not aware that his face
was radiant because he had spoken with the Lord.
Exodus 34:29

sunshine In Exodus 34, I read about how Moses’ face shone when he returned to the Israelites after receiving the two new stone tablets of the Ten Commandments. In fact, his face shone so brilliantly that the people asked him to cover his face with a veil. There was physical evidence upon Moses’ face that he had spent time with the Lord just like Jill’s face and body became tan as evidence of the time she spent in the sun. Sonshine and sunshine – both are evident in a person’s life! My face may not glow to the extent that Moses’ face shone, but I desire for those around me to be aware of the change in my countenance when I spend time with the Lord. I like Matthew 5:16 which says, “Let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

 for even Satan disguises himself as an angel of light
2 Corinthians 11:14
Put on the full armor of God,
so that you will be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil.
Ephesians 6:11

sunshineI shared earlier in this blog about the need for sunscreen to protect from sunburn and skin damage. I find a spiritual comparison from this perspective as well. In II Corinthians 11, Paul talks about how satan likes to deceive us by appearing to be an angel of light. There is the possibility of my getting burned by either the sun or satan, so I need to take the necessary precautions against this happening. Sin is satan’s sunburn. I apply sunscreen for protection from the ultraviolet rays of the sun and I can put on the armor of God for protection again satan. (See Ephesians 6:10-17 to find each piece of God’s armor.) If I am going to be in the sun for an extended time, I need to apply sunscreen whether the weather be sunny or cloudy. Clouds may deceive me into thinking that I will not get sunburned but such is not the case. The same is true spiritually. I need to apply the armor of God every morning when I get up because I do not know what attacks from the enemy I might encounter on a specific day. I need Sonshine whether or not I am in the sunshine.

 He (Jesus) will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.
Matthew 3:11
Do not put out the Spirit’s fire.
I Thessalonians 5:19

sunshine Too much sun results in a sunburn making one’s skin feel as if it is on fire. I do not want that. This would be a negative type of burn, but I want a positive type of burn. The more time I am in the presence of the Son, the more my heart will burn with a holy passion for Him. I desire to be on fire for the Lord! John the Baptist told his followers (and he still tells me) that it is possible to be baptized with the Holy Spirit that will create a fire within one’s heart for the Lord. I want to burn for the Son by being immersed in His presence. As the New King James Version of the Bible states, I do not want to quench the fire of the Holy Spirit in my life. As is true with Jill, I like sunshine. However, I like Sonshine better – and I know this is Jill’s perspective as well.

 Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

