First “P” – Perceiving Change

LIFE is a JOURNEY…..a JOURNEY involves CHANGE…..embrace CHANGE in your LIFE…..LIFE is a JOURNEY…..a JOURNEY involves CHANGE….. in your LIFE…..LIFE is a JOURNEY…..a  

peas-mf

 First “P” – Perceiving Change
“Hidden . . . then Revealed”

 Last week I introduced a series of blogs that will evolve over the next eight weeks. I shared how each of us takes our own unique journey through life resulting in various changes during life. In turn, we need to embrace these changes in our lives. I entitled my previous blog “Please Pass the ‘Ps” because each step of a specific journey I took entailed a “P” word that described what I was experiencing during that moment. At the conclusion of my journey, I had a plate full of “Ps”! My dish of life was abounding with perceiving, pursuing, preparing, processing, possessing, permitting and proclaiming change. My Reader, are you ready to join me in adding the first “P” to your plate of life? While I share the phases of change I experienced while on a specific journey in my life, you can apply my insights to your personal life.

The first “P” the Lord presented to me during our transition into a new home five years ago was “Perceiving Change.” I searched the scriptures to confirm what I was sensing to be a word from the Lord. I found Isaiah 43:18-19, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See I am doing a new thing. Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?” This was my word of encouragement persuading me to perceive a change in life.

My husband perceived our move before I did, but soon we were both involved with looking at new home possibilities. It was fun looking at various options, but I also began to wonder about the specific house and area where we would settle. I did not want to worry but my mind started going down various uncharted paths as we began this journey. It was then that God spoke to me that our new home was currently hidden from us but would be revealed at the right time.

My title for the concept of Perceiving Change became “Hidden … then Revealed.” I found comfort in Paul’s words in Colossians 2:2b-3, “that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.” Whether applying this verse to my physical journey or my spiritual walk, I discovered that Christ reveals things to me little by little. In the natural realm, I did not know where our new home would be. Spiritually, I also knew, and still know, that I have not grasped all there is to know about God. Much of God and His plans are mysteries to me – that is why we are called to a faith walk. Regarding a new home, God promised that He would lead us to a new place to live just as He continues to reveal more of His spiritual nature to me allowing me to grow in the knowledge of Christ. “Hidden things” are continually being “revealed” to me.

Although I felt that God was currently hiding the perfect house from us, I also felt confident that He would reveal that house to us at the right time. I started praying each time we looked at a house or drove through an area. I would pray that if the particular house we were looking at was to be ours, that the Lord would reveal it to both of us.

We could have used a GPS to direct us to the locations of the houses we looked at, but we often used a map because we wanted to get an overview of the whole area. However, in a sense we did have a GPS with us. It was not a Global Positioning Satellite but rather it was God’s Promises in Scripture. We held on to such scriptures as Psalm 127:1 that says, “unless the Lord builds the house we labor in vain.” We did not want to labor in vain; we only wanted the house the Lord had built for us.

In a sense, God engaged us in a game of hide and seek. God was hiding and we were seeking. I knew at the right time, we would find God’s plan for us. One day I was studying John 19. Taking some liberties, I envisioned how God the Father could have played a version of hide and seek with Jesus during His life on earth. Through symbolism, God hid some things about Jesus’ life in Matthew 2 and then revealed their significance in John 19. What God the Father hid, Jesus the Son revealed.

My Reader, do you feel like God is asking you to pursue a change in your journey of life? Is He asking you to add the “P” of Pursuing Change to your life’s plate? We often say that we do not like change, but if we do not pursue a possible change that the Lord is asking of us, we may be hindering our journey with Him in our life. Will you trust Him to reveal more of what may currently be hidden from you?

I hope you will look at this week’s Bible Study post entitled “Hidden … then Revealed” to find out how the spiritual version of hide and seek was played in two of the gospels. God may be playing this game with you as well. Be assured, He will reveal Himself when you pursue His plan for your Life-Journey-Change.

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

 

Leave a Reply

