Second “P” – Pursuing Change

LIFE is a JOURNEY…..a JOURNEY involves CHANGE…..embrace CHANGE in your LIFE…..LIFE is a JOURNEY…..a JOURNEY involves CHANGE….. in your LIFE…..LIFE is a JOURNEY…..a JOURNEY 

peas-mf

 

Second “P” – Pursuing Change
“Expectations or Expectancy?”

As I continue to reflect upon our Life-Journey-Change of five years ago, I still know today that Life is a Journey that involves Change and that I must embrace Change to continue my Life. Pursuing Change was the second “P” to be added to my dish of life.

For us, Perceiving Change in life was more exciting than Pursuing Change. My husband and I had fun when we started looking at the possibilities available regarding our changing the address of where we called home. It became a more serious task as we pursued looking at open houses for sale on the weekends.

I remember my disappointment with one patio home we had looked at quite seriously. I thought it might be our new home but when we looked at it more thoroughly one afternoon we found some definite defects. Later that evening I was reading a chapter that talked about expectations in William Paul Young’s book The Shack. The phrase “expectations or expectancy” jumped off the page and into my spirit. I thought about the phrase and applied it to my experience with the house we had looked at earlier in the day. I had gone to look at that property with expectations of what I wanted to have happen. I was disappointed because things had not turned out like I had expected. God was showing me that my expectations led to my being disappointed, but if I would wait upon the Lord with expectancy for His plans, not only would I not be disappointed but I would be blessed. I now wanted to yield my expectations to the plans God had for us and I wanted to look with expectancy for what God was going to show us in the future. Had not God told me that He had a hidden place for us that He would reveal at the appropriate time? Once again I searched the scriptures to gain understanding of these words. I found Proverbs 3: 5,6, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”

We would continue pursuing a change in the place we would call home, but now I went about it with an excitement and expectancy of what the Lord would reveal rather than just pressing forward with my own expectations. My husband kept telling me that we were not in a hurry and that we would find something. I had to listen to and trust both my husband and the Lord.

One particular quote that I like by William Paul Young in The Shack says, “To the degree that you resort to expectations and responsibilities, to that degree you neither know God nor trust God.” I have come to the conclusion that a person can set boundaries with expectations while expectancy gives God permission to do what He desires.

Over time, another scripture has become important to me. I like the New Kings James translation of Ephesians 3:20, “Now unto him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us.” My personal expectations may have led to some disappointment for me during the time we were pursuing change, but when I changed my focus to expectancy and relied upon God, He certainly provided exceedingly abundantly above and beyond anything that we had put upon our list of requirements for a new home. There are many amenities in the home where we now live. We sometimes feel we have much more than we need.

Pursuing Change was a good “P” to be added to my dish of life. While delving into numerous scriptures I discovered that I was not the only person to struggle with expectations and expectancy in life. Join me in this week’s Bible study as I show how Sarah, Hannah and Esther also dealt with these concepts in their lives. My Reader, I challenge you to consider the options of expectations and expectancy in your life.

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

