Third “P” – Preparing Change

 LIFE is a JOURNEY…..a JOURNEY involves CHANGE…..embrace CHANGE in your LIFE…..LIFE is a JOURNEY…..a JOURNEY involves CHANGE….. in your LIFE…..LIFE is a JOURNEY…..a 
peas-mfThird “P” – Preparing Change
“Pitch, Pack, and Ponder”

1-2-3 . . . . I am counting the number of “Ps” on my plate of life. 101-102-103 . . . . I am counting the number of boxes we packed five years ago as we prepared for our move to a new home.

As I write my weekly blog, I continue to share about the seven “Ps” the Lord gave me as encouragement during a specific Life-Journey-Change in 2009. We had perceived change and we had pursued change. I almost missed the “P” of Preparing Change. In fact, I did not hear the Lord speaking to me about preparation because I was so busy packing. Finally God got my attention through an article Elizabeth Sherrill had written for Guideposts magazine.  She talked about a move she had experienced as being a spiritual adventure. Whoa! I had not considered all my packing as having any spiritual significance. (I will share more about her article in the Bible Study for Preparing Change this week,)

Once again, I needed to spend some time alone with the Lord so I could hear what He had to say. The Bible verse “Prepare the way of the Lord.” found in Isaiah 40:3 NKJV became significant to me. As I read this passage in various translations, I discovered something that seemed important to me. The New International Version translation states Isaiah 40:3 as saying “prepare the way for the Lord” rather than “of the Lord” in the New King James Version. Although the difference is only one little preposition, the meaning seems different to me. I like to combine the wording of both translations for a more inclusive statement. My conclusion is that I am to prepare the way for the Lord in my life by living and preparing my life according to the way of the Lord.

As with the previous “P” words that the Lord had given to me, I discovered a phrase that had a meaningful message for me. The phrase that stuck in my head was “Pitch, Pack and Ponder.” I was pitching things we no longer needed and would not take with us to our new home. I was packing things we would use no matter where we lived. But pondering about things?? I had to ponder about pondering! It was a helpful exercise for me emotionally and spiritually.

Pitching, Packing and Pondering can still be beneficial for me today. I need to apply the three Ps of pitching, packing and pondering to “stuff” just because I can accumulate more things than I truly need. If I take the time to think about whether or not I need a specific item, it helps me to decide whether I should keep it or get rid of it. I also need to “pick, pack and ponder” things emotionally. I will benefit from taking time to process in my mind whether “something I have heard or seen” has  a beneficial lesson for me to learn and remember. I might also discover that it could be detrimental to me or someone else if I recall an incident that should be forgotten. “Pitch, Pack and Ponder” helps me to move forward in my emotional and spiritual life just like these activities helped me prepare for our move and adjustment to a new home.

My Reader, do you need to do some pitching, packing and pondering in your life? Take a look at the Bible Study for Preparing Change as it may be helpful to you. Please feel free to share your comments with me.

Joyfully,
Cheryl

gold apple new

Leave a Reply

