Autumn and Apples

 

leaves-for-autumn-mfapple-for-autumn-2-mfbible-in-autumn-mf

This is the first week of November and I am still enjoying the fall season. Autumn and apples go together for me. Apples and Proverbs 25:11 also go together for me. In the Amplified Version of the Bible, this Proverb says, “A word fitly spoken and in due season is like apples of gold in settings of silver.” The phrase “in due season” seems to tie in with my reference to the season of autumn. So, where do my thoughts take me as I begin to write a blog today?

I begin by checking to see how faithful I am to fulfill Proverbs 25:11 through this blog each week. After all, my website is based on this scripture verse. Are the words I share accurately spoken in order to be of benefit to my readers and to glorify God? Are my words like the juicy, fresh apples I enjoy eating during this season? I value my readers as being silver vessels into which I impart the words that have been spoken into my heart by the Lord. It is an awesome responsibility to be accountable for words I speak or write whether it be through my blog or living daily life. Psalm 19:14 says, “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.”

While reviewing blog posts over the recent months, I become aware that it has been a long time I shared an apple recipe with my readers. I think it is time for me to do so this week. I found several different online versions of a fun apple snack recipe. Below you will find my own variation.

APPLE BITES
1 tube of crescent rolls
1 or 2 Granny Smith or 20 Ounce apples
Melted margarine or butter
Mixture of sugar and cinnamon

Cut 8 apple wedges approximately ¾ inch thick – cut our seeds.
Lightly brush triangles of crescent rolls with melted margarine.
Sprinkle desired amount of sugar and cinnamon mixture on crescent rolls.
Roll up each apple wedge in one crescent roll. (You may add an extra apple wedge to each roll if desired.)
 Bake for 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees.
Enjoy!

While looking at this recipe, I find some spiritual lessons for myself.

First of all, I picture myself as being the apple. Not only am I an apple but I am the apple of God’s eye. This describes God’s favor available to me. The Psalmist asks of the Lord in Psalms 17:8, “Keep me as the apple of the eye; Hide me in the shadow of Your wings.” This is a comforting verse to me because it speaks to me of the watchfulness of the Lord over my life.

Next I think about the sugar and cinnamon mixture. Instead of sugar, honey is mentioned as a sweetener in the Bible. Proverbs 25:27 says, “It is not good to eat much honey, nor is it glorious to seek one’s own glory.” Okay, I don’t want too much sugar not only because it is not good for me but if there is a connection between sweeteners and my desire to seek glory for myself, I do not want it! However, a few sprinkles of sugar upon my apple of life will not be harmful, especially if it is mixed with cinnamon. According to Exodus 30:23 cinnamon is listed as one of the spices in the perfumed holy anointing oil. It had a sweet-smelling aroma and was applied to objects and people for consecration, dedication, healing etc. I want to say with David in Psalm 23:5, “You (the Lord) anoint my head with oil.” If I have the Lord’s anointing upon my life, then I identify with Paul who says in II Corinthians 2:15, “For we are to God the pleasing aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.” The aroma of the sugar and cinnamon mixture on the apple snack while it is baking is definitely pleasing. I want the fragrance of my life to be the same!

The final ingredient of this apple snack is the crescent roll wrapped around the apple wedge. I compare the crescent roll to the robe of righteousness mentioned in the Bible. First of all, Romans 3:9 says, “None is righteous, no, not one.” I agree! By myself, I am not capable of always saying and doing the right thing. However, I want to do what Job said he did in Job 29:14, “I put on righteousness, and it clothed me.” This is possible because of Isaiah 61:10, “I will rejoice greatly in the LORD, My soul will exult in my God; For He has clothed me with garments of salvation, He has wrapped me with a robe of righteousness.” This is what I envision happening in the spiritual realm while I wrap my apple wedge in a triangular piece of dough in the physical realm.

Now I need to summarize and conclude this week’s blog. Personally, my daily focus is to see the supernatural in the natural. I also want to help my blog readers see our extraordinary God in our ordinary surroundings. I try to use simple words that have the potential to become golden apple nuggets of truth placed within the lives of my readers. I want others to know that I envision them as refined vessels of silver highly valued by the Lord we all serve.

My Reader, can you identify with my comments about spoken or written words being like apples of gold? Do you enjoy apples being the primary ingredient of an autumn snack? Are you reminded of what it means to be a Christian while you prepare the recipe I have shared today? Would you like to join me for an Apple Bite while thinking about the spiritual message the Lord is sending to you through the physical image of the snack? If you can give a positive response to any of these questions, then I have accomplished my purpose for today.

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

