Creation in the Canadian Rockies (Nature)

 

dscn1906In August, we took a trip to the Canadian Rockies and viewed amazing sites of nature. We were blessed to be in the center of God’s awesome creation. While amidst the picturesque beauty of nature, three quotes of creation were in the forefront of my mind. Today I am reflecting upon these words as well as remembering the exquisite scenery we beheld.

DSCN1850

Today is the beginning of creation.
context of words spoken by Ken Burns

While on our motor coach traveling from one destination to another, we listened to documentaries about the national parks by Ken Burns. The words written above have stuck in my mind. I may not have the exact wording of the quote, and for this I apologize. However, the challenge I received from the words of Ken Burns was that creation is always being created because it is always changing. Each day we were on our trip, we experienced the beauty of natural wonders of creation we had never seen before. They were new sacred scenes to us because we had never been in this part of North America before. However, the countryside was also new simply because the formations of the earth are constantly changing. Today nothing looks exactly like it looked yesterday. I desire to look upon each day as an opportunity to enjoy God’s creation. I desire to daily be aware of and appreciate the newness of the beauty surrounding me. I want to proclaim the words of Psalm 118:24, “This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.God created this day and I want to experience His creation to the fullest of my ability.

As each day is new, so is there something new for me to observe within the earth’s terrain each day. A glacier is a large mass of moving ice and snow that is a minimum of 100 feet deep and covers an area of at least 25 acres. Experts say that in another 20 to 30 years there may no longer be a glacier in Glacier National Park in Montana. Because ice melts and avalanches occur, the appearance of the landscape changes. While in Glacier National Park, we saw photographs of what the terrain looked like in the early 1900s displayed beside pictures of the present day appearance. The changes were amazing! What will it look like in another thousand years? Only God knows! The Creator has given life to His creation to allow for new creation and recreation.

DSCN1869

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.”
Genesis 1:1

God is the Creator of all creation! Nothing that we saw during our trip to the Canadian Rockies would exist if it were not for the hand of God. As I looked upon the splendor of the brilliant turquoise color of Lake Louise, I realized God was the creator of such beauty. The composition of glacier flour and the lake’s water resulted in the creation of this unique color. The loveliness of the lake was accentuated by the marvelous mountain peaks surrounding it. The clarity of the water allowed the lake to be a mirror reflecting the mountain peaks. Mountains above and mountains below with Lake Louise in the middle! Sites of natural beauty were within our view throughout the Canadian National Parks of Jasper and Banff as well as at Lake Louise. I was reminded of the words of David in Psalm 8:9, “O LORD our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth!” I was captivated by the splendid beauty of nature created by God in this part of the country.

dscn1931In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God,
and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning.
John 1:1-2

In this scripture, “He” refers to Jesus. As the Son of God, the second person of the trinity, Jesus was present at creation when God said in Genesis 1:26, “Let us make man in our image.” I am amazed when I consider the fact that Jesus was involved in the creation of the earth and now He chooses to live with me as one of His created beings. I make this statement based upon Galatians 2:20, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.” and II Corinthians 5:17, “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.” I like the words of Sarah Young in Jesus Calling when she writes as if Jesus is saying, “I am the Creator of the entire universe, yet I choose to make My humble home in your heart. It is there where you know Me most intimately; it is there where I speak to you in holy whispers.” While in the Canadian Rockies, I heard not only holy whispers but sacred shouts revealing the glory and majesty of God, my Creator, who chooses to be alive in me as well as in His creation of the world. God’s natural wonders are amazing, but the realization that Jesus chooses to live in me is even more incredible.

I encountered a renewed nearness to God while we enjoyed the environment of God’s creation in this part of the country. However, I must also remember that I can experience His closeness anytime I choose because Christ lives in me and He promises to always be with me. God formed the earth and He continues to transform me into His likeness. This is God’s design and declaration through the spectacular scenery of His creation as well as His pattern and plan for my life.

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a comment