Three Doors

door mfnew heart mfdoor as Christ mf

Just for the fun of it I decided to look up the definition of a door on wikimedia.com this morning. Now I am ready to make some analogies between the physical door of a structural building and the spiritual door of my heart and life.

Door of a building: A door is a moving structure used to block off, and allow access to, an enclosed space.
Door of my heart: My heart’s door is my attitude that can block out, or allow access to, all areas of my life.

Door of a building: A door is constructed with both an interior side and an exterior side. Sometimes, the facades of the door are the same on both sides but often there is a contrast between the two sides.
Door of my heart: God has created my heart with an interior side and an exterior side. Sometimes, the feelings and expressions of my heart are the same on both sides but often there is a contrast between what I feel on the inside and what others see from the outside.

Door of a building: A door to a structure with hinges that swing to the inside allowing it to be opened inwardly. However, it can be opened from either side.
Door of my heart: There is a spiritual hinge to the inside of my heart allowing people and thoughts to access my life. However, there is the possibility that my heart can be open to and influenced by emotions and feelings from either side.

Door of a building: A door is a barrier that can either admit or keep out something or someone. An open door allows people, animals, ventilation or light to come in. The opposite is true if the door is closed. A door can separate the person inside from noise or other activities occurring outside. Most doors are equipped with some type of lock controlling who enters and exits.
Door of my heart: I have the choice of who and what can be a part of my life. When my heart is open to the Lord, people, and situations, they influence my thoughts and actions. The opposite is true if my heart is closed. I can decide whether or not to separate myself from the noise and confusion of the outside world. I can lock and unlock the door of my heart according to my desires and decisions.

OK – I have made my comparisons between the doors of buildings and hearts. However, I am amazed at some Bible verses that are coming to my mind with references to scriptural doors. So, I continue.

“I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved,
and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”
John 10:9 NKJV

These are the words of Jesus! Now I have a third door! There are doors to buildings, there is a door to my heart, and now Jesus describes himself as a door.

Looking at the definitions and descriptions I have used for a door, I understand how Jesus is the door I will walk through when my earthly life is completed. He is a person rather than a structure, but He is the One who will welcome me into His eternal home. However, I must accept Him as my personal savior and invite Him into my heart before I can dwell forever with Him. I do not want to keep the door of my heart closed causing me to not be able to enter the door of Jesus. I do not want to be locked out.

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find;
knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives,
and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.”
Matthew 7:7-8

Jesus continues to be the one who speaks these words of scripture. Again there is reference to Jesus being the door upon which I am encouraged to knock. I need to knock on the door of Jesus by asking and seeking a personal relationship with Him through prayer. Jesus assures me that if I knock, He will open the door and allow me to enter. His door is not locked but I must knock loud enough (be sincere in heart) for Him to hear my knock and usher me into His presence. Yes, He is my door to salvation, but He is also the door upon which I knock when seeking answers through prayer. Jesus assures me that He is ready and willing to open the door allowing my prayers to be heard and answered. His open door also grants me the privilege of worshiping Him in His presence. All I need to do is ask! Jesus waits for me to come close enough to Him that I can knock upon the door of His heart, but He is also waiting for my arrival. Jesus never locks me out of His presence.

“Here I am! I stand at the door and knock.
If anyone hears my voice and opens the door,
I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.”
Revelation 3:20

Here again are the words of Jesus. This time He is recognizing my heart as a door. Although Jesus knows the condition of my heart both inwardly and outwardly, He still chooses to ask for a place in my life by knocking upon my heart’s door. He makes a personal house call to the door of my heart, but He waits for my invitation before He comes in. I control who enters and exists my life. I must decide whether or not I will allow Jesus to have access to my heart and my home. Jesus is a gentleman and will not enter unless I swing wide my heart’s door.

It is time for me to bring this blog post to a conclusion. My Reader, I want to remind you and myself of the three doors I have thought about today. Door #1 is the physical structural door to a building. Door #2 is the spiritual door of your/my heart. Door #3 is Jesus. My Reader, as you go through the structural doors of buildings you enter and exit today, may you be reminded that Jesus is a door. Also be mindful of the door to your heart. Is it opening and closing in the proper way to glorify God?

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

