March Winds Are Blowing

wind-with-dove-mf

According to the calendar, spring will begin in two days. I will be glad when the weather feels like spring, but the calendar usually tells me it is spring before the weather feels like it. However, we can count on one weather factor during the month of March – it will be windy!

As I meditate upon the word “wind”, I perceive it from both natural and supernatural perspectives. Naturally speaking, wind occurs when air flows from high pressure to low pressure. This results in a change in the atmosphere and in the temperature. Although this weather phenomenon happens year round, we are often more aware of it in March as the weather fluctuates during this change of seasons. Turning my thoughts toward the supernatural realm, the wind is revealed as the Holy Spirit. The word “spirit” in both Hebrew and Greek means “breath” or “wind.” I experience different seasons in my life and it is during these shifts and changes that I rely most heavily upon the Holy Spirit to help me through the adjustments in my atmosphere and temperament. Let’s look at scripture for validation of this comparison.

“The wind blows where it wishes and you hear the sound of it,
but you do not know where it comes from and where it is
going;
so is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”
John 3:8

In this scripture, Jesus makes a comparison between the wind and the Holy Spirit. Since Jesus points out a similarity, I feel there is some validity for what I want to share. An online article by Dr. Donald B. DeYoung of Creation Research Society has helped me articulate the following four comparisons between wind and the Holy Spirit.

8636119077_57dbabe649_qFirst, wind is moving air, and fresh air is needed for life. Regarding the Holy Spirit, the Hebrew word for spirit is ruach, and it means “air in motion.” This word can also be interpreted “breath” or “life.” I am reminded of Genesis 2:7, “Then the LORD God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.” I see definite similarities!

8636119077_57dbabe649_qSecondly, there is no material shape to the wind. Although we cannot see it with our eyes, we do experience the effects of wind. Neither is there is a visible shape to the third person of the Trinity. However, I experience the effects of the Holy Spirit as my life is being transformed and sanctified. Just as a gentle breeze can be invigorating, so can it be energizing for me to feel the work of the Holy Spirit. Listen to the words of Acts 2:2&5, And suddenly there came from heaven a noise like a violent rushing wind, and it filled the whole house where they were sitting….and they were all filled with the Holy Spirit.”

8636119077_57dbabe649_qThirdly, there is a force involved in both cases. Wind is a powerful force that we cannot stop or control. The moving of the Holy Spirit is the work of God and neither is it subject to human control. Zechariah 4:6 assures me that what is done is “Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit.” The power of the wind can make it easier or more difficult for us to move depending upon which direction the wind is blowing and in what direction we desire to travel. We can apply this same statement to the power of the Holy Spirit. We can either obey His leading or oppose it. I pray I choose to yield to the power of God’s Spirit.

8636119077_57dbabe649_qLast, we can experience both the wind and the Holy Spirit in a variety of ways. Some days we may feel a gentle breeze upon our faces while on other days we may experience wind with the force of a tornado or hurricane. We also can encounter the presence of the Holy Spirit in various ways. At times, I sense His presence simply through a quiet sensation within my spirit while at other times His presence may be so strong upon me that I literally feel myself shaking. It is interesting to note that within the single chapter of Acts 16, the Holy Spirit chooses to move in two unique ways. First, let’s read a few words that describe how the Holy Spirit worked quietly within Lydia’s heart. we (Paul and Silas) were supposing that there would be a place of prayer; and we sat down and began speaking …a worshiper of God, was listening; and the Lord opened her (Lydia’s) heart to respond to the things spoken.” – Acts 16:13-14 Later, the Holy Spirit reveals Himself more violently through an earthquake to a jailer. Listen to some selected phrases: “Suddenly there was such a violent earthquake …. When the jailer awoke…he said, Sirs, what must I do to be saved?‘ …They said, ‘Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved, you and your household.’”Acts 16:26-31.

“Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.
Praise the Lord!”
Psalm 150:6

My Reader, it is March and the winds of nature are blowing. I pray the wind of the Holy Spirit is also moving upon your life. No matter which wind we are experiencing, one thing remains constant – God is in control. Colossians 1:16 says, “For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him.” May I conclude by encouraging you to do as the Psalmist suggests in Psalm 150:6, “Let everything that has breath (that includes you!) praise the Lord!” As you feel the breeze of a March wind blow upon your face, let your breath praise the Lord today!

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

