In the Palm of His Hand

See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands
Isaiah 49:16 New International Version (NIV)
See, I have written your name on the palms of my hands.
Isaiah 49:16 New Living Translation (NLT)

 This scripture has always been both comforting and intriguing to me.  I feel secure when I think about not only my name but my life being engraved or written on God’s hand.  It is a beautiful picture of love.  However, I am also curious as to how God really accomplishes this feat.  Is this a literal fact or a symbolic image?  Engraving involves carving or imprinting a name or image on a surface. I have heard the engraving process correlated to the crucifixion of Jesus. When the nails pierced through Jesus’ hands as He was nailed to the cross, it has been said that not only our sins but our names where in His hands.  Although a very painful picture, it is also a very personal portrayal of the engraving process Jesus was willing to endure for me.  My name and life were deeply etched into the palm of His hands that day over 2000 years ago.  With this assurance, I can place my human hand into His divine hand today with full assurance of His protection and power.  I say this with the assurance found in the following scripture.

For I am the LORD your God who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you
Do not fear; I will help you.
Isaiah 41:13

Not only is my name engraved on the palm of the Lord’s hand, but He holds my hand and leads me through each day and each activity I perform with my hands.  Sometimes this may mean I will hold the hand of someone else.  I may hold the hand of my husband as a way of showing him my love and demonstrating the oneness between us.  I may hold the hand of a small grandchild not only to show affection but also as a way to keep him or her secure and away from harm.  I may hold the hand of an elderly person as a way to steady him or her so they will not fall.  I see that the reason I hold another person’s hand may be one of the same reasons why God holds my hand!  I want to echo the words of David from the following Psalm. 

I cling to you; your right hand upholds me.
I cling to you; your strong right hand holds me securely.
Psalm 63:8 NLT

 My Reader, I could continue with my semantics about hands, but I know a picture can be worth a thousand words, so let me share the following images along with a few comments.  May this give you some direction for meditation regarding God’s hand upon you.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Your hand!

hands 3 mf

Your hand or God’s hand?

 hands 9 mf

What did Jesus’ hand print on the cross look like?

hands 6 mf

All the hands of God’s children are engraved on the palms of His hands!

hands 10 mf

Does your hand reach out to God’s hand?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Or is your hand fighting against God’s hand?

hands 2 mf

Whose hand do you hold?

prayer- hands mf

Do you fold your hands in prayer thanking God for His hand upon your life?

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

