The Season of Springtime

 

rainspring-flowersApril showers bring May flowers.

This is a saying I remember from my childhood. Today these words help me to endure the spring rain showers (mostly snow showers this year) that prevent the weather from being as warm as I would like. It is near the end of April, so I cling to the promises of May. The flowers will soon bloom along with the blossoming of more consistent bright and sunny days. Since I cannot yet be out in my flower garden, I think I will plant some seeds in the garden of my heart and mind. I found the following quote at THEDAILYQUOTES.com.

Your mind is a garden.
Your thoughts are the seeds.
You can grow flowers.
Or you can grow weeds.

Just as there are many packets of seeds available in a garden store, so are there many thoughts accessible to be planted within my mind. Each day I choose which packet of seeds, or thoughts, I will allow to take root within my mind. My thoughts may be positive or negative. Either choice will produce fruit. Positive thoughts grow into flowers that bring a smile to my face and to those around me. Negative thoughts are like weeds that I must pull out of my mind. Weeds of words have a tendency to grow faster than positive posies! I need to follow the advice of Paul in Philippians 4:8, “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.”  Since I have trouble remembering all of Paul’s words, I like to simplify his instructions by remembering the acronym that Steve Nicholes uses for THINK. T is true – H is honorable – I is innocent – N is necessary – K is kind. I like these seeds! Proverbs 23:7 NKJV states, “For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.” This verse describes my heart as the fertile soil where the seeds of my thoughts grow producing either flowers or weeds.

If God wasn’t growing sons and daughters,
things would not take nearly as long.
But since He is more interested in our growth
than He is in our getting,
waiting becomes
a very essential and useful means toward the end.

At the beginning of this blog, I admitted that I needed patience while waiting for warmer weather. Pondering the place of patience within the garden of my life, I like the above quote by Jack Hayford from Moments with Majesty. Applying Hayford’s quote to gardening and to my life, I realize that spring is the growing season. Plants and seeds are growing whether or not I yet see visual proof. Just like seeds, thoughts are growing in the garden of my heart and eventually they will produce actions and reactions. I must remember that growing is more important than getting! Sometimes the seeds I plant are the prayers I pray. God hears my prayers the moment I pray them, but His answers may not be evident as quickly as I would like. God is at work in the garden of my heart before I am aware of the answer. Psalm 40:1-2 says, I waited patiently for the Lord; He turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire;” The soil of my heart may be muddy and need to be dried up a little bit before His best answer can grow within me and produce the best fruit or flower. The best soil for planting needs to be moist but not saturated with water. The mud of April showers needs to dry out to some extent before May flowers can be planted.

Is the spring coming?” he said. “What is it like?”…
“It is the sun shining on the rain and the rain falling on the sunshine…”

I found this quote online at goodreads.com. It is taken from The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. During the month of April, there are days when I too ask if spring is coming. I like how the answer combines sunshine and rain. Both elements of weather are needed for flower gardens and gardens of the heart and mind. Spring, showers and sunshine all go together. Zechariah 10:1 says, “Ask the LORD for rain in the springtime; it is the LORD who sends the thunderstorms. He gives showers of rain to all people, and plants of the field to everyone.” Most likely, I would complain if there was no rain just as I grumble if I think there is too much rain. I must think about the words of Solomon in Ecclesiastes 3:1 NKJV To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.” I will embrace the showers and the sunshine. I will acknowledge the possibility of flowers and weeds. I will allow growth to take place. It is springtime in my life and in the atmosphere!

My Reader, enjoy the special seasons of your life. Today is April, but it will soon be May.

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

2 thoughts on “The Season of Springtime

Leave a Reply

