A Cup of “T”

 

 

tea-cup-set-2My Reader, would you like to join me for a cup of “T” today? Before you continue reading, you may want to get yourself a cup of hot liquid. Then come back so you can sip a cup of tea while we share three more cups of “T.” The cups I offer to you will be filled with truth, trials and testimony.

 

tea-cup-correct-with-sppponWe are filling our first cup of “T” with truth. The best cup of liquid tea is made by brewing tea in hot water for several minutes. It also takes time to produce a cup of truth because there are situations where it can be hard to discern the truth from falsehood. In John 8:31-32, Jesus says, “If you continue in My word,… you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.” If we are consistently in the Word (reading and meditating upon scripture), we can compare Christ in us to tea brewing in a cup of hot water. The result will be that we are set free when we drink this cup of “T.” Jesus goes on to say in John 14:6, “I am the way and the truth and the life.” So, may we allow the truth found in Jesus to brew in our cups of life. How do we get our cups filled and refilled with truth? John 4:24 says, “God is spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.” So, we refresh our cups of life with truth whenever we truly worship the Lord.

 

tea-cup-with-teaMy Reader, you may not want to be as quick to accept the next cup of “T” that I offer to you. It is a cup of trials. None of us like trials, but we will all encounter them during our lives. Some varieties of tea produce a darker colored tea than others. The same is true with the days of our lives – some days are darker than others. James 1:2-4 encourages us by saying, “Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” In order for our cups of life to lack nothing, we have to accept the trials that are poured into our lives. Listen to the words of Jesus in Luke 22:42, “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” From a human perspective, even Jesus would have preferred not to endure trials but this cup was handed to Him by His Father. Think about what our situations might be like today if Jesus had not accepted the trial of the cross! Although not our favorite cup of “T,” as we sip our cup of trials, remember what is said in Romans 8:28, “we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.”

 

tea-cup-correct-with-rose-sugarOne more cup of “T” is waiting for us today. This is the cup of testimony. This cup of “T” will have a different flavor for each of us. That is okay because I like different varieties of tea to drink on different days. Some days our life cups will be full of a strong testimony while other days may result in a weaker testimony. Some days I allow the tea to steep longer than other days. David says in Psalm 23:5, “You (the Lord) prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.” While sitting at the table of life, we will be served cups of trials but the Holy Spirit will also be there pouring His presence into our cups brewing powerful testimonies. Revelation 12:11 says, “They triumphed over him (satan) by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony.” May we be quick to share our testimonial cups of how the Lord enables us to not only to overcome but to go through our trials. We must ask for refills of this cup of “T” on a daily basis. I do not care to drink cold leftover tea and neither is an old stale testimony appealing to those around us.

 

tea-cup-goldAs I look at the emptiness of my cup of life, a few words from the old hymn Fill My Cup Lord by Richard Blanchard come to mind. I realize I need the “T”s in my cup of life to be refreshed. I sing the following words to the Lord, Fill my cup, Lord; I lift it up Lord; Come and quench this thirsting of my soul.”

My Reader, are you ready for another fresh cup of “T” before we conclude our tea party together? What kind of “T” do you want – truth, trials or testimony? The Lord promises to fill your cup!

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

3 thoughts on “A Cup of “T”

  1. Always enjoy and am encouraged each week by your writings. Our Lord has certainly gifted you with the ability to take our everyday activities and turning them into teaching moments. Being a tea drinker also makes this one especially relevant. Thanks, Judy J.

Leave a Reply

