A Spoonful of Hope

spoon-of-cereal-mf

bible-for-study-mfI am imagining that my Bible is a big bowl of cereal and I am digging into  it with my spoon to find scriptures to feed upon and satisfy my hunger. Today, I have an appetite for HOPE. My Reader, please join me in my search for nourishment within a spoonful of hope. In I Corinthians 3:1-2, Paul speaks of God’s Word as being milk for spiritual infants and meat for men of the Spirit. So, please join me in digging into scripture and finding a few spoonsful of hope for us to feed upon.

 

spoon-of-sugar-pink-mfI am reminded of the song A Spoonful of Sugar Helps the Medicine Go Down from the movie Mary Poppins. For me, “A Spoonful of Hope Helps My Day Go Up.” Hope helps me to see situations from a positive rather than a negative perspective. It is interesting that the first reference to hope in the Bible deals with the appearance of no hope. Listen to the words of Naomi. Return, my daughters! Go, for I am too old to have a husband. If I said I have hope, if I should even have a husband tonight and also bear sons, would you therefore wait until they were grown? Would you therefore refrain from marrying? No, my daughters; for it is harder for me than for you, for the hand of the LORD has gone forth against me.” Ruth 1:12-13 Even though there did not appear to be any hope, Ruth chose to stay with her mother-in-law. Throughout the remainder of the book of Ruth, we learn that the God of Hope intervened to provide Ruth with a husband and Naomi with a grandson. The story of Ruth and Naomi reminds me to trust God and rely upon His hope even when my circumstances appear to have no hope. May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust I him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13 My Reader, this scripture is a spoonful of hope for both of us!

dice

cross-4-mfHope is not just a throw of the dice. Hope is holding the cross of Christ in your hand while waiting for the fulfillment of God’s promises. The Lord is our source of hope. I like what Psalm 71:5 says in he New Living Translation, “O Lord, you alone are my hope. I’ve trusted you, O LORD, from childhood.” I become aware of a correlation between hope and trust. My hope originates with the Lord. For me, hope is possible because of Luke 1:37. The New International Version says, “For no word from God will ever fail.” This allows me to place hope in scripture. I like the wording of this verse in a couple of other translations. The New Living Translations says, “For nothing is impossible with God.” and the New American Standard Bible states, “For nothing will be impossible with God.” One translation relates God’s impossibility to the present while the other speaks in the future tense. According to Hebrews 13:8, Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever, so the same is true regarding His words and actions. I once read that hope is “impossible” with the “im” erased. Listen to Mark 9:23, “‘If you can’?” said Jesus. “Everything is possible for one who believes.” Hope is possible because nothing is impossible with God!

hope-maybe-mf

hands-10-mfHope does not keep us bound in ropes that prevent us from achieving what God desires for us. Jeremiah 29:11-13 promises, “For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.” This is one of my favorite Bible verses! However, while being confident in God’s hope we also need to be aware of the words to Timothy in I Timothy 5:17, Do not be arrogant nor put your hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but put your hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment. Our hope for the future needs to be based upon God’s kind of hope in order for us to fully succeed according to Gd’s plan. Most likely there will be times when we all will feel hopeless. When these times occur, we need to say with the Psalmist in Psalm 42:5, “Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.” We also can find hope in Proverbs 23:18, “There is surely a future hope for you, and your hope will not be cut off.” We never need to be fearful of the hope and the future the Lord has for us because of the promise found in Romans 5:5, “And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. 

spoon-of-strawberry-mfBiblical hope is based upon God’s promises. So, let’s go back to our bowl of cereal, the Bible, and find a few more spoonful of hope. As you dig deeply into God’s Word, may your spoon of life be filled with hope. I encourage you to look for a verse that is like a delicious strawberry on top of your cereal just for you. The Lord likes to fill our spoons of life with verses that are appropriate and appealing to our specific needs. Be filled with hope!

spoon of strawberry mfBut hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.
Romans 8:24-26 NIV

And now, O Lord, for what do I wait? My hope is in you.
Psalm 39:7 NAS

spoon of strawberry mfThe LORD delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.
Psalm 147:11 NIV


You will be secure, because there is hope;
Job 11:18 NIV

The LORD delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.
Psalm 147:11 NIV


Be joyful in
hope
, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.
Romans 12:12 NIV

Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.
 Isaiah 40:31 NIV

I will hope continually and will praise you yet more and more.
Psalm 71:14 ESV

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

*Author’s choice to highlight hope in above scriptures.

 

Leave a Reply

