Gazing in the Garden

garden-hearteye-gaze-pink

Jesus, unlock the garden of my heart;
awaken love in me.
I want to sit at Your feet, as the great mercy seat,
in the garden of my heart.
I want to laugh; I want to sing;
I want to dance with the King
in the garden of my heart.

Jesus, unlock the garden of my heart;
awaken love in me.
I want to gaze in You eyes, so that faith may arise,
in the garden of my heart.
I want to laugh; I want to sing;
I want to dance with the King
in the garden of my heart.

Jesus, unlock the garden of my heart;
awaken love in me.
I want to feel Your embrace, and receive Your grace,
in the garden of my heart.
I want to laugh; I want to sing;
I want to dance with the King
in the garden of my heart.

My Reader, are you ready to grasp another key to unlock the garden of your heart? Last week, we examined the first key while humbly sitting at the feet of Jesus at the mercy seat. This week we will look at the second stanza of this praise chorus that verbalizes the desire to gaze into the eyes of Jesus so that faith may arise within the heart. Please join me in this garden.

If I apply the words of this praise chorus to my natural surroundings, my picture might be as follows. I am sitting on a park-like bench in a tranquil garden on a summer evening. I gaze at the stars. The longer I focus upon the sky, the more stars I see and the beauty of the heavens increases. Making a spiritual application, I describe the scene as follows. As I humbly sit at the feet of Jesus and meditate upon His Word, I realize how merciful the Lord is to me. Although I began with my head bowed, I now lift my eyes up to His face. The longer I gaze into the eyes of Jesus, the more I comprehend what it means to live by faith.

To understand the meaning of gazing into the eyes of Jesus, I focus my eyes upon scripture. I repeatedly find the phrase “the apple of the eye” that speaks of a place of priority and importance. This phrase seems to go along with the concept of gazing. Zechariah 2:8 says, whoever touches you touches the apple of his eye.” Wow – God considers me the apple of His eye! If the Lord keeps His eye on me, then I desire to keep my eyes on Him! Proverbs 7:2 says, “Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye.” This Proverb gives me insight to how I can gaze upon the Lord. Along with David, I plead the words of Psalm 17:8, “Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings.”

The words of my song promise me that if I gaze into the eyes of Jesus, my faith will increase. Hebrews 11:1 states, “Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” Hmmm. I have been reflecting upon gazing and now I read words about not seeing. Is this contradictory? Not necessarily. Webster’s dictionary defines gaze as to look intently and steadily; to stare, as in wonder or expectancy. For me, to look with confidence and expectancy is faith in action. Gazing in faith involves spiritual sight rather than physical sight. For me to live by faith, I will follow the instructions of Paul in I Corinthians 4:18,“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” In her book Jesus Calling, Sarah Young embellishes this verse by saying, “Fix your eyes not on what is seen (your circumstances), but on what is unseen (My Presence).”

What is my response to gazing into the eyes of Jesus and having my faith arise? The last three lines of this chorus say that I want to laugh and sing. Last week I focused upon how I want to laugh. This week I want to look at the concept of wanting to sing. I reiterate Psalm 126:2 from last week because it mentions both laughing and singing. “Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy…. ‘The LORD has done great things for them.'” In Ephesians 5:19, Paul speaks of “singing and making melody with your heart to the Lord.” I like this because the setting for my singing is in the garden of my heart. Psalm 28:7 says, “My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.” This is what I want to do!

I conclude by saying, I want my eyes to look into Jesus’ eyes and I want to see what He sees. My purpose for gazing into the Lord’s eyes is for my faith to increase and never cease. This will create a song within the garden of my heart. My Reader, is there a song in your heart today?

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Note: Next week we will conclude our time in the garden of the heart by looking at the third stanza of this praise chorus.

3 thoughts on “Gazing in the Garden

Leave a Reply

