The Magnifying Glass

magnifying-glass-2

magnifying-glass-2Today I am imagining that I am a young child seeing my surroundings through a magnifying glass that I hold in my hand. I observe the increased size of a blade of grass. I view closeup the veins within a leaf. I notice the rough texture of the tree trunk. I am fascinated by the intricacies of a flower. There is so much to see through the lens of a magnifying glass that I would ordinarily overlook with only my eyes. Through magnification, I am aware of three things. First, the object appears to be closer to me. Second, the object appears larger. Third, I can see the object more clearly.

music-notes-2I realize that not only does magnification apply to objects from a physical perspective, but it also can apply to my relationship with the Lord spiritually. In Luke 1:46 NKJV, Mary says, “My soul magnifies the Lord.” Luke 1:46-55 is referred to as Mary’s Song or the Magnificat. It is Mary’s response to the angel’s message that she is highly favored by God and will give birth to His Son. Mary expresses joy, admiration and gratitude unto the Lord as she embraces the revelation of God’s purpose for her. The word magnifies comes from “magaluno,” the Greek word meaning to make great, to enlarge, to show respect, to hold in high esteem. This is a very appropriate word to describe Mary’s response. Other Bible translations for Luke 1:46 use such words as glorifies, praises, exalts, proclaims the greatness of the Lord. Mary declares that her soul magnifies the Lord. From her words, I conclude that my soul (my inner being consisting of my mind, will and emotions) is my spiritual magnifying glass just as a high-powered convex lens is my physical magnifying glass.

magnifying-glass-1Can I apply the three observations I made regarding the perks of a physical magnifying glass to the blessings of a spiritual magnifying glass? I think I see a correlation. First I magnify the Lord by lifting Him up in a way that brings Him closer to me. I am reminded of the worship song by MERCYME beginning with the words, “Lord I lift your name on high, Lord I love to sing your praises.”  James 4:8 NLT says, “Come close to God, and God will come close to you,” and Psalm 22:3 can be translated, “the Lord inhabits the praises of His people.” So, if I praise or magnify the Lord, He comes closer to me just like what appears to happen when I look at an object through a convex lens. Secondly, when I magnify the Lord by focusing upon His character and nature, He becomes bigger and my problems appear to become smaller. It is impossible for God to be made any larger than He is but my understanding of Him can increase. While magnifying the Lord, my awareness of His presence is heightened. I desire my words to be those of David in Psalm 34:1 “I will bless the LORD at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.” Thirdly, when I choose to magnify the Lord, I see Him more clearly. Psalm 96:4 NASB states, “For great is the LORD and greatly to be praised; He is to be feared above all gods.” This verse portrays the clarity with which I can see the Lord by lifting Him above all else, similar to how a convex lens appears to magnify an object to be seen more clearly.

magnifying-glass-1My Reader, join me in accepting David’s invitation found in Psalm 34:3 NKJV, “O magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together.” As we engage in spiritual magnification, we will experience a depth and clarity of faith we have not previously known. As we magnify the Lord, we will begin to perceive how great He truly is. We will allow Him to have a more prominent, or a more magnified, place in our lives. When each of us says, “God, I magnify You,” each one of us is declaring, “I am envisioning You as the most important person and priority of my life.” Nothing we attempt to do can make God any bigger than He already is but our perception of Him and His majesty will increase.

music-notes-2I cannot conclude my thoughts regarding the magnification of the Lord without thinking of the hymn How Great Thou Art. The refrain of the hymn declares, “Then sings my soul, my Savior God, to thee: How great thou art! How great thou art!” With my soul being my spiritual magnifying glass, I magnify the Lord by declaring “How great thou art!”

magnifying-glass-2My Reader, will you join me today in magnifying the Lord while looking through a magnifying glass? It will help us focus upon the Lord. Please make use of your spiritual magnifying glass so that you can lift the Lord higher, and see Him more clearly, and envision Him greater than you ever perceived Him before.  

 Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

