Raindrops and Rainbows

raindrops-2rainbow-1A few days ago an ordinary experience became an extraordinary enlightenment. The weather had been extremely hot and humid. Finally the rain came. I stood in the doorway watching the rain descend as the air temperature decreased. It was refreshing. I became aware of how high in the sky the raindrops originated. This was certainly not the first time I had watched rain fall, but the point of origin of the rain captured my attention. I knew the raindrops always spilled from the clouds above, but that day they appeared to be the Lord’s teardrops falling from heaven to earth. I was mesmerized by the long liquid lines of rain falling from a point I could not even see. I was reminded of a comment I had recently read in the novel The Looking Glass by Richard Paul Evans,   “I have heard it said of Cork (Ireland) that the sky doesn’t rain, it weeps.” Yes, I interpreted what I was seeing as God weeping. Finally other responsibilities called me away from the door where I was standing as the rain continued to fall. A short time later, nature beckoned me back to the doorway in time for me to see a double rainbow spanning the sky that previously had been filled with raindrops. My thoughts then turned to the promise God made to Noah in Genesis 9:13, “I set My bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a sign of a covenant between Me and the earth.” God was in the raindrops and He was in the rainbows. A double rainbow spoke to me of a double portion of His blessings through His faithfulness. Raindrops and rainbows are part of both the natural and the supernatural realms.

My thoughts go back to my experience with the rain shower There would not have been the atmospheric conditions for the creation of a rainbow if it had not rained. I can make a similar application to my spiritual life. I would not have an appreciation for the blessings of the Lord if I did not encounter difficult situations that cause me to reach out for His help. All of us will experience both sorrow and joy in His presence. Psalm 30:5 says, “weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.” Raindrops fall during the dark times and rainbows appear during times of joy. In Desiring God, John Piper  quotes a Minquass proverb saying, “The soul would have no rainbow if the eye had no tears.” We have a greater appreciation for the joyous times when we contrast them to the more difficult times.

Is there any validity to my perceiving natural raindrops as being symbolic of the Lord’s supernatural teardrops? Does God actually weep? In her AnGeL blog, Anne Graham Lotz, daughter of Billy and Ruth Graham, has mentioned that her mother once said if there are any tears shed in heaven, they are going to be shed over all the answers to prayer for which no one ever bothered to ask!” It amazes me to think that I might cause God to weep just because I do not take time to lift up prayer requests to Him! Am I causing God to shed teardrops as raindrops rather than allowing Him to create a rainbow of fulfilled promises into someone’s life?

Sometimes we experience rain showers. Sometimes we experience rainbows. Sometimes we experience sunshine. All are needed for plants and people. Ecclesiastes 3:4 states that there is “a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance.” Emotions, like weather, can be hard to forecast and predict. All are part of God’s plan. However, our understanding of weather changes and emotional changes may be different from the Lord’s perspective.  I again quote from The Looking Glass by Richard Paul Evans, “To choose life is to choose sorrow as well as joy, pain as well as pleasure.”  We must remember that the Lord is more concerned about our being holy than our being happy. Or, something we might consider being in the category of sorrow may be in the category of sacred for God. The outcome of these times may not be easy but they will be eternal. May we be aware of how the Lord desires to work in our lives and allow our ordinary experiences to become times of extraordinary enlightenment!

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

