A Chain Reaction

music-notes-4I keep singing Tasha Cobb’s song entitled Break Every Chain. This in turn causes me to remember a short song I wrote several years ago entitled The Paint Brush of Praise. The words I focus upon from Break Every Chain are “There is power in the name of Jesus to break every chain, to break every chain, to break every chain.” The words from my song that I think about are “With the paint brush of praise, we paint the links of the chains that hold us in bondage this day.” Chains are highlighted in the words of both pieces of music.

chain-2First of all, I ask myself, “What are the chains that need to be broken?” Simply because we are of human flesh, I believe we all experience some kind of bondage or chains in our lives. Romans 3:23 states, “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” Personally, my chains are my sins and shortcomings that hold me back from the fulness of the Lord.

jesus-2How can I be released from these chains? The answer is found in Jesus. Tasha Cobb’s song says it is by the power in the name of Jesus while my song suggests it is through praising the Lord Jesus. Let’s see what scripture states. Jesus concludes Luke 4:18 by saying, “The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me … to set the oppressed free.” Then Romans 8:2 says, “through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death.”

My next question is, “Why is there power in the name of Jesus to break every chain?” I find my answer in Philippians 2:9-11, “Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”

paint-brush-2Then I ask, “What kind of paint do I apply to the chain links and how do I apply it?” Ephesians 6:12 declares, “ For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” This verse tells me that I will not purchase this kind of paint in a paint store. Yet, if my paint had a color, it would be red symbolizing the blood of Jesus that was shed to make it possible for my chains to be broken. However, I need a can of praise paint because I desire to praise Jesus for being my deliverer, my chain breaker. Jeremiah 17:14 says, “Heal me, LORD, and I will be healed; save me and I will be saved, for you are the one I praise.” I believe healing and salvation are two results of chains being broken over our lives. I find my praise paint applied in Psalm 138:1, “I will praise you, LORD, with all my heart; before the ‘gods’ I will sing your praise.” Taking the paint brush of praise in my hand and voice, I apply the blood of Jesus to the links of the chains holding me captive. The blood of Jesus is like a solvent that dissolves sin’s hold upon my life. I am reminded of the words of the praise chorus Praise the Name of Jesus by Roy Hicks Jr., “Praise the name of Jesus, Praise the name of Jesus, He’s my Rock He’s my Fortress, He’s my Deliverer, In Him will I trust, Praise the name of Jesus.”  I especially note the phrase “He is my Deliverer.” This song proclaims that Jesus is the One who delivers me from my chains of sin.

My Reader, are you stuck in a difficult or uncomfortable situation? Do you feel like you are chained to your current circumstances? If so, get out a bucket of praise and paint the links of your chains with a paint brush of praise! Dip into God’s Word and apply some praise promises over your bondage. Remember, there is enough power in the name of Jesus to break every chain you may be experiencing. Paint and proclaim His name above and over all the difficult circumstances that may be keeping you from being your best for the Lord. There is truth in John 8:36, “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

