HOPE helps me COPE

 

hope-bWe have a granddaughter named Hope who is the manifestation of the HOPE that helped our son and daughter-in-law COPE during a difficult time. It was discovered that they were not able to get pregnant because Amy had a tumor on her pituitary glad that was preventing her body from functioning properly. Although they had to COPE with a time of delicate brain surgery etc., their unwavering HOPE in the Lord was rewarded with the birth of their daughter, Hope.

Before I continue to share my insights, I want to clarify some definitions. The Hebrew word “tavah” translated HOPE means “to wait for” or “to look hopefully” in a particular direction. HOPE is an expectation, something yearned for and eagerly anticipated. However, it is also something for which one must wait. The Greek word for HOPE is “elpis” and is defined as a confident expectation based on solid certainty. This type of HOPE is derived from God’s promises. The other word I want to explain is COPE that is defined as the ability to deal effectively with something difficult. Manage and survive as listed as synonyms. With biblical HOPE on my side, I desire to more than survive when I encounter difficult times in my life. HOPE helps me do more than just COPE! When I mention HOPE, I am not just thinking about something I am “wishing for,” but my HOPE is firmly rooted in the person, work and promises of Jesus Christ.

A question most of us ask at some point is, “Why does God allow me to be in situations where I find it difficult to COPE?” Romans 5:3-5 says, “we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.” Yes, there will be tribulations that I need to COPE with, but there will also be character traits formed within me during these times as the Holy Spirit builds HOPE within me

In the novel Two Steps Forward by Sharon Garlough Brown, there is a character who says she refused to HOPE because she was afraid of being let down by others and/or by God. She refused to get her “hopes” up because she did not want to be disappointed. Her reasoning was that if she set her hopes low she would be pleasantly surprised if something good happened. She went on to suggest that her lack of HOPE might have been a way of her hardening her heart because she was resisting the love of God that has been generously poured out by the Holy Spirit. She emphasized that God’s love was poured out, not measured out by teaspoons. I like this as a description of the abundance of HOPE being poured into our lives to help us COPE. HOPE does not assure me of a specific outcome, but it does promise me God’s help to COPE. The writer of Romans 8:38-39 states, “I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” That is the kind of HOPE that makes it possible for me to COPE!

Paul says in Philippians 3:10, “I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death.” I gained new insight regarding this verse when I recently read Frappe with Philippians by Sandra B Gleann. I do not have to wait for extreme persecution to share in Christ’s sufferings. In every trial I endure, I fellowship in His sufferings because He is with us throughout my struggles. Christ had to COPE with death upon the cross. And, He did this so that all of us now have the HOPE of resurrection power being released into our lives to help us get through our difficulties whether that may entail a strained relationship, a health diagnosis, a financial need or whatever. Each of us can articulate our own situation in which we need HOPE to COPE. I cling to the promise of Psalm 30:5 that says, “weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.” The HOPE of joy in the morning helps me COPE with the night’s tears.

I encourage my readers to read the story of Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego in Daniel 3. I want to quote just a couple of verses. Daniel 3:23-25, But these three men, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, fell into the midst of the furnace of blazing fire still tied up. Then Nebuchadnezzar the king was astounded and stood up in haste; he said to his high officials, Was it not three men we cast bound into the midst of the fire? They replied to the king, Certainly, O king. He said, Look! I see four men loosed and walking about in the midst of the fire without harm, and the appearance of the fourth is like a son of the gods! This story helps me visualize that the Lord is with me in my fiery trials. His presence not only gives me HOPE but it also assures me of His presence to help me COPE. My Reader, the Lord is there for you as well as for me. Oh, the joy we can feel when we realize the truth of Romans 8:37, “in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.” We are more than conquerors! We have HOPE to help us COPE!

 Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

2 thoughts on “HOPE helps me COPE

  1. This is a great devotional. I passed it along to Michael. He liked it so much he passed it along to several people and we had requests to send it again so they can pass it along. 🙂
    You are doing a wonderful work for and through our Lord.

Leave a Reply

