What Is In a Name?

prayer-man-1

Our Father who is in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.

Your kingdom come.
Your will be done,
On earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
And do not lead us into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.
[For Yours is the kingdom
and the power and the glory forever.
Amen.]
Matthew 6:9-13

lentMy Reader, today I want you to take time to think about your name. Do you know the meaning of your name? Does the meaning of your name accurately describe you and your character?

Some of the names I answer to are Cheryl, Mom, Grammy, Aunt Cheryl and Mrs. Ahlquist. The name given to me by my parents is pronounced “chair -l” while most people pronounce it “share-l.” I grew up with my name being pronounced correctly until my husband and I were engaged. He nicknamed me “share-l” because he always had to correct people as to who I was because they either called me Carol or Sheryl. No matter how it is pronounced, I like its meaning. I have a mug with my name on it along with the meaning of “dear one” and the scripture, “I have loved you with an everlasting love” from Jeremiah 31:3. I drink in God’s love every time I take a drink from this mug.

Today I am thinking about the meaning of names given to each of us at birth because I am also thinking about the names of God revealed throughout scripture. My Reader, let us continue our exploration of the significance of the Lord’s Prayer as we begin the second week of Lent.

Hallowed be Your name.
Matthew 6:9

We study only four words today as we concentrate upon the last part of Matthew 6:9.

Hallowed be Your name.
Our modern language more often uses the word holy rather than hallowed. The holiness of God and His name presents us with the concept of prayer being a form of worship. Although prayer can be defined as a conversation with God, we must remember that we are not talking to just another person. I never want to forget the reverence and awesomeness of our holy God! This is a time to praise God!

Hallowed be Your name.
In this phrase, Jesus is referring to God’s name. To understand the holiness of God, let’s carefully consider some of the Old Testament names of God. This will help us to understand the character of God and why His name is to be esteemed above all names.

Elohim
name of God as creator in Genesis 1:1
primary word translated God in the Old Testament
“El” means Mighty or Strong
“him” is the plural ending signifying the Trinity

El Elyon
“The Most High”
designates God as the sovereign ruler of the universe

El Roi
“The God Who Sees”
He is awake, He is aware – His eyes are not shut, God sees

El Shaddai
“The All-sufficient One”
Shaddai means the Pourer or Shedder of blessings temporal and spiritual
Shaddai is the many breasted one – the one who pours forth
He pours Himself out for His creatures and gives them His lifeblood

Jehovah
the most revered name for God
the most frequently used name in the Old Testament
translated in scripture as LORD using all capital letters
describes God as the One who is totally self-sufficient
comes from Hebrew root word “to be, to become”
I AM WHO I AM in Exodus 3:14
“I have always been, I always am, and I always will be”

Jehovah-jireh
“The LORD Will Provide”
“Jireh” literally means “to see”
He has foreseen your need for eternal salvation and sees your day-to-day needs
the word “sees” denotes provision and His provision is complete

Jehovah-raphe
“The LORD Who Heals”
heals sickness of body and soul and spiritual

Jehovah-shalom
“The LORD is Peace”
this peace cannot be found anywhere else than in a right relationship with God

Jehovah-raah
The LORD is M
y Shepherd”
most familiar reference found in Psalm 23:1

Jehovah-tsidkenu
“The LORD Our Righteousness”
a name of hope for those who have given up hope

My Reader, I am not asking you to pray the exact words of The Lord’s Prayer this week, but I am encouraging you to meditate upon the names of God.

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Note: To Know Him by Name by Kay Arthur has been my source for the names of God I have highlighted and defined.

 

Leave a Reply

