Take a Deep Breath

wind

hs-windIt is springtime and the weather is in a constant state of flux. Some days are warm and then the next few days may be cold. Wind usually accompanies a change in these weather fronts. I feel wind but I do not see it. I know wind exists even though I cannot visually validate it. This reminds me of the Holy Spirit who I know exists even though I cannot see Him. Scripture describes the Holy Spirit as wind in Acts 2, so it is applicable for me to make this comparison. Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a violent wind came from heaven and filled the whole house where they (the disciples) were sitting….All of them were filled with the Holy Spirit…. – Acts 2:2&4. (my emphasis and explanations)

Since wind can be defined as moving air, I think about breathing. I have physical life because I breathe oxygen from the air. This takes me to a scripture in the first book of the Bible. Genesis 2:7 says, “Then the LORD God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.” There is life in the breath of God. In the creation process, I was formed and then I came alive when God breathed His breath of life into me. God imparted to me eternal, spiritual life only possible through His breath which was not given to any plant or animal He created. I have physical life because I breathe in oxygen, and I have spiritual life because I breathe in the breath of God. I must not try to do His work in our own strength. Paul reminds me in Philippians 4:13 NKJV, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” The only way I can accomplish all that the Lord sets before me is to rely upon the spiritual power imparted to me through Christ, through the breath of God. The Lord did not create me to be able to do everything by myself in my own strength. Like the wind, there is power in the breath of God. I cannot see it but I can feel it.

Nature’s wind accompanies storms within the atmosphere. There can be turmoil within the skies and there can be turmoil within my life. There is power in blustery breezes and there is power within the wind of the Holy Spirit. When I am feeling overwhelmed, it helps to relax if I take a few deep breaths. What I am doing in the spiritual realm is expelling my own strength and breathing in God’s strength. I am exhaling my sinfulness and taking in His forgiveness. I am reminded of the words of the hymn Breathe on Me Breath of God by Edwin Hatch

Breathe on me, breath of God
fill me with life anew,
that as you love, so I may love
and do what you would do.

Breathe on me, breath of God,
until my heart is pure,
until my will is one with yours
to do and to endure.

Breathe on me, breath of God;
fulfil my heart’s desire,
until this broken part of me

Breathe on me, breath of God;
so shall I never die,
but live with you the perfect life
of your eternity.

To conclude, I have come to realize that if I can believe in the wind that blows as part of weather, I can believe in the Holy Spirit. Like the wind of the weather, I cannot see the Holy Spirit, yet like the wind, I can feel His presence. Just because I cannot see the wind of the weather, I do not stop believing that wind exists and that there is power within the wind. So, neither should I doubt the existence or the power of the Holy Spirit simply because I cannot visually see Him. I constantly and consistently need the oxygen within the air to live physically and I must continually rely upon the Holy Spirit to give me spiritual life. I need to breathe in God’s divine strength. In John 20:22 it says, “He (Jesus) breathed on them (the disciples) and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit.” Today I ask Jesus to breathe on me and impart to me a fresh infilling of the Holy Spirit.

My Reader, will you take a deep breath with me?  Be aware of the breeze around you.  Be filled with the Holy Spirit. 

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

