Salt in the Salt Shaker

salt-shaker-1

Whenever I set the table for dinner, I always put a pair of salt and pepper shakers on the table. It is part of my routine, but today I take time to look at the salt shaker as a representation of myself. While looking closely at the salt shaker in my hand, I conclude that if my life is a salt shaker, then my mouth represents the holes in the top of the shaker from which the granules of salt are dispersed. Matthew 12:34 says, “For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.” So, the salt that is within me is whatever is within my heart. What I meditate upon in my mind is connected to what is in my heart. Philippians 4:8 says, “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” My thoughts determine the nature of the salt that I sprinkle upon the lives of those around me. Each word I speak is like a granule of salt. So, I guess I am both a salt shaker and the salt. Colossians 4:6 says, “Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.

While looking at the contents of the salt and pepper shakers I have placed on our dinner table, I notice the contrast between the white and black colors. White reminds me of purity while black warns me of sin. I John 3:2-3 says, Beloved, now we are children of God, … we will be like Him, because we will see Him just as He is. And everyone who has this hope fixed on Him purifies himself, just as He is pure.” (my emphasis) Then I John 3:4 goes on to say, “Everyone who practices sin also practices lawlessness; and sin is lawlessness.” Verses 2 and 3 describe the white salt while verse 4 illustrates the black pepper. If I breathe in too much pepper, I sneeze. My physical system clears out the particles of pepper just like my soul needs to be cleansed of sin if I am to be pure. Purity is related to guiltless, blameless, or innocent behavior. My life must exemplify purity if I am to be a salt shaker filled with the type of salt the Lord desires. I want to pray with David Psalm 51:10, “Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” I believe the Lord desires all of His children to be the salt of God’s promises, presence and power.

Mark 9:49-50 declares “For everyone will be salted with fire. Salt is good; but if the salt becomes unsalty, with what will you make it salty again? Have salt in yourselves, and be at peace with one another. I believe the fire with which we are salted is the Holy Spirit. If this is true, then the fruit of the Spirit is the salt within me. Galatians 5:22-23 describes this fruit, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.” I want to be set on fire for the Lord through the evidence of this fruit of the Spirit! I notice that the end of Mark 9:50 says that salt can become unsalty. How can this happen? The answer is found as I continue to read in Galatians 5. Verses 25-26 say, “If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit. Let us not become boastful, challenging one another, envying one another.” Boasting and envy can change the nature of the salt that is within me. Maybe a little pepper contaminates my salt.

Some people prefer more seasoning than I use in my cooking – that is why I put the salt shaker on the table. Each of us needs to taste something to determine if there is enough salt for our personal taste. Psalm 34:8 encourages us to “Taste and see that the LORD is good.” While salt increases the flavor of food, too much salt is harmful to one’s body. I want to be mindful of how much salt I share with those around me. When I share a meaningful verse of scripture with a friend, I can also enhance the flavor of the Word by sharing my personal testimony of why this verse tasted good to me at a particular time. On the other hand, too much salty scripture may traumatize the taste buds of an unbeliever. The taste of my salt should be described as love, joy, peace, understanding, patience, sensibility, courage, etc.

My Reader, I encourage you to be a salt shaker with me so that together we can be the salt of the earth as Jesus stated in Matthew 5:13. As salt, may we live pure lives that are neither too salty or unsalty. Let us enhance or stimulate a taste for what the Lord has to offer to all who gather around our table to feed on His Word and our testimony.

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

4 thoughts on “Salt in the Salt Shaker

  1. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after
    looking at a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  2. Qué tal. Me ha alucinado leer su crónica. Me ha parecido una
    interpretación muy cautivadora, pese a que, en varios parajes difiero
    un poco de tu convencimiento. He contemplado que tienes más informaciónes, afirmo tomarme un momento
    para adivinarlas. Ten por fijo que seguiré todas tus manifestaciones.
    Te felicito por tu portal web. Un tierno saludo.

    • Sorry it has taken me this long to respond. I have had to get your comment translated to English for me. Thank you for you kind comments and I am looking forward to being in touch with you again. May the Lord bless you!

Leave a Reply

