Temptation can be Tempting

temptation-1

temptation-2

The Spirit then compelled Jesus to go into the wilderness,
where he was tempted by Satan for forty days.
He was out among the wild animals, and angels took care of him.
Mark 1:12-13 NLT

Jesus – Son of God and Son of Man. The divine became human. According to Mark 1:12-13, while in human form Jesus was tempted by Satan. He was tempted but He did not sin. Amazing!

In Genesis 3, Eve was tempted by Satan. She was tempted and she yielded to temptation. This resulted in sin. Not surprising!

Hmmm. If Jesus was tempted and Eve was tempted, then I should not be surprised when I am tempted. Will I yield to temptation like Eve or will I be able to resist temptation like Jesus? I notice that both individuals were tempted by Satan. He is my tempter as well so I heed the words of I Peter 5:8NLT, “Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.” There are three things I want to remember when I am being tempted: I am not to be afraid. I am not to be ashamed. I am not alone.

I am not to be afraid. Like Jesus, I can conquer temptation by standing on scripture. God’s Word is stronger than any word Satan speaks to me. I can echo the words of Jesus in Matthew 4:7, “It is also written: ‘Do not put the Lord your God to the test.'” The important thing for me to remember when I quote scripture is that I must obey the words of God as well as know them. Satan knew the scriptures but he did not obey them while Jesus knew and obeyed the words of His Heavenly Father. Paul says in Romans 8:31-39, “What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who is against us?… in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Will I overcome temptation or will I allow temptation to overcome me? I want my Heavenly Father’s factor to dominate the fear factor within me.

I am not to be ashamed. I can easily be embarrassed when I am tempted to submit to sin. I can belittle myself by thinking I am the only person who would ever consider doing something so foolish. However, I Corinthians 10:13 NLT tells me, “The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.” I must remember this verse when the enemy tries to embarrass me.

I am not alone. Mark 1:13 NLT concludes by saying, angels took care of him.” Jesus knows what it is like to be tempted so He is now able to help me through my temptations in the best way possible. He knows what I need and He is by my side ready to care for me. Deuteronomy 31:6 says, “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” “Never” includes times of temptation.

My Reader, are you being tempted by the enemy today? Jesus overcame temptation – and so can we. We do not overcome temptation by ourselves, but we can overcome with the help of Jesus. Hebrews 4:14-16 states, “Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has ascended into heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are–yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” When temptation comes, may we remember that we do not need to be afraid nor do we need to be ashamed. We are never alone,

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

