Grace Notes

open-bible-1

Grace Notes – Music Notes – God’s Notes
I want to take note of these notes today!

Musical grace notes are described as notes of short duration before the sounding of the relatively longer-lasting note that immediately follows these diminutive notes. These notes do not take away from the time value of the primary note that is part of the rhythm and melody line of the musical composition. When I think about musical grace notes, I think of short, quick notes that add embellishment with a flourish to an otherwise ordinary music note. A grace note is like an additional ornament to the melody and harmony of a song.

The Bible has many references to grace. I like to think that these scriptural verses are God’s grace notes to us. If a musical grace note is a quick note before the note that is part of the melody line, then is God’s grace a quick impartation of the awareness of His presence into the flow of my daily activities? God’s grace is a gift embellishing me with His power. I desire for God’s grace is be more than an ornament; I want it be an integral part of my life. I believe God’s grace adds beauty to my life similarly to how a grace note adds beauty to a musical song.

I take note of three definitions of grace.
*The simplest definition of grace is simply God giving us what we do not deserve, His unmerited favor.
* Another definition I like is found in the Life Application Bible and says that grace is God’s voluntary and loving favor given to those He saves.
*My favorite definition is from Don Meares, God’s empowering presence causing us to be whom He created us to be and to do what He has planned for us to do.

My Reader, today I want to send you some personal grace notes written by the Lord. I pray that you will apply these short notes to the rhythm of your life and allow them to add an embellishment to your daily routine.

grace-notes-2Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence,
so that we may receive mercy and find to help us in our time of need.
Hebrews 4:16

grace-notes-2

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith –
and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God
Ephesians 2:8

grace-notes-2

For from His fullness we have all received, grace upon grace.
For the law was given through Moses;
grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

John 1:16-17 ESV

grace-notes-2

And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ,
after you have suffered a little while,
will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.

I Peter 5:10

grace-notes-2

My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.”
II Corinthians 12:8

Grace Notes – Music Notes – God’s Notes. When John Newton wrote the hymn Amazing Grace, I do not know that he included any grace notes in his composition,  but I do know that his words described how amazed he was regarding God’s grace. I want to conclude my notations about grace with a quote by Alexander Whyte, “Grace, then, is grace,–that is to say, it is sovereign, it is free, it is sure, it is unconditional, and it is everlasting.”

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

