Promises! Promises!

 


1400782535lioka
PERSONALIZE GOD’S PROMISES

Now the Lord was gracious to Sarah as He had said,
and the Lord did for Sarah what He had promised.
Genesis 21:1
Today as I read this Genesis scripture, the Lord impressed upon me to personalize this verse and replace Sarah’s name with my own name. So I read, “The Lord did for Cheryl what He had promised.” (My Reader, I encourage you to insert your own name.) Yes, I can think of many times that the Lord has fulfilled His promises to me. For those times, I praise the Lord. I will not take time to tell of these positive promises, however, I encourage each of you to take time to personally reflect upon the manifestations of the Lord’s faithfulness to His promises in your life.
1400782535liokaGOD’S PERSPECTIVE OF PROMISES

Promises! Promises! I make promises to others. Others make promises to me. Although I intend to be faithful to my promises at the time of commitment, I do not always succeed. Because of my natural human inability to keep my word, I can be prone to doubt the devotedness of my supernatural God. How foolish of me because God always honors His promises recorded in scripture. I want to reassure myself of God’s faithfulness by reflecting upon scripture verses that declare a positive perspective
of His promises.

He has given us His very great and precious promises.
II Peter 1:4
(What an amazing gift the Lord has given to me!)

being fully persuaded that God had power to do
what He had promised.
Romans 4:21
(My goal is to be completely confident that God will carry out His promises.
He is able to do what He says, but do I wholeheartedly expect Him to do it?)

Not one of all the Lord’s good promises
to Israel failed; every one was fulfilled.
Joshua 21:45
(He is incredible!)

The Lord will fulfill His purpose for me.
Psalm 138:8
(I can depend upon His faithfulness to carry out His Word for me!) 
1400782535liokaMY PERSPECTIVE OF GOD’S PROMISES

I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.
In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”
John 16:33
I must embrace the totality of any promise Jesus gives. I cannot hit the delete key for any of the words of the Bible and twist God’s promises to my advantage. Although I like the beginning of this promise in John 16 that Jesus made, I am not quick to want to accept the second part. I cling to the promise of peace but want to push the thought of trouble out of my mind. In reality, I can appreciate the promise of peace more after a trial of trouble. God sees a bigger picture for the fulfillment of His promises than what I perceive.

For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.
Isaiah 55:8
Another thing I need to remember about God’s promises is that they may not be manifested in the way or according to the timeline I might expect. God’s thoughts and ways are so much deeper than mine! Consequently, the way He chooses to do what He declares will be better for how He wants to fulfill His plans and purposes in my life.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.
Proverbs 3:5-6

The best perspective I can have regarding the Lord’s promises is that He know
s best! He fulfills His promises in the perfect way for me personally. I must not add or subtract from His complete promises and I must have faith in His wisdom and faithfulness. 1400782535liokaPERSONALLY APPLYING GOD’S PROMISES

The Lord will fulfill His purpose for me.
Psalm 138:8
I began my inserting my name instead of Sarah’s name in Genesis 21:1 and now I conclude by replacing the pronoun me in Psalm 138:8 with my personal name. (My Reader, you can do the same.) I think again about God’s promise to Sarah in Genesis. God was faithful to her having a son even though she had to wait until she was 90 years old. This was the fulfillment of the promise God made to Abram, her husband, back in Genesis 12 when he was 75 years old. It took 25 years for God to do what He promised! When I consider this promise, postponement, and performance, I understand the predictability of my positive God! God never left Abraham and Sarah and He was faithful to His promise even through their son Isaac was not born according to the timeline expected by the couple. If I intend to place my name within this scriptural promise, I must believe that God will fulfill His promise according to His plan and purpose.
God’s promises are wonderful even though the manifestation may not be
according  to my expectations.

The Lord shall not turn back until He has executed
and accomplished the thoughts and intents of His mind.
Jeremiah 30:24
My Reader, here is one promise I can make to you that I know will not be broken. It is not my promise – it is God’s promise.

Joyfully,
Cheryl,
gold apple new

One thought on “Promises! Promises!

Leave a Reply

