Balmy Breeze + Peaceful Pond = Divine Diamonds

sparkling water 2diamonds 2It was a Sunday morning when my husband and I leisurely sat on the patio of our motel by a small pond. Usually at this time we would have been in a building of four walls for a time of worship but this morning we were in Christ’s chapel of nature.

Our worship team was a choir of chirping birds singing praises to the Lord. I whispered my own silent prayer of thanks to God, the Maker of Heaven and Earth. The morning message I was reflecting upon was based upon the reflections I saw upon the pond. I want to share the message that meandered through in my mind that morning.

The pond was primarily peaceful but occasionally a balmy breeze would rustle through the trees and cause ripples upon the water. With the breath of God blowing upon the water, diminutive water swells were created. These tiny wavelets looked like diamonds as the sun shimmered upon them.

My thoughts turned towards diamonds. According to Exodus 28:18 NKJV, a diamond is the third stone in the second row of stones in the breastpiece worn by the priest. The breastpiece, or ephod, was placed over their heart. To me, this says that diamonds are near and dear to the heart of God.

As I looked upon the sparkling splashes of water, the Lord spoke to my spirit that I was also precious to Him. Isaiah 43:4 begins by saying that we are precious in God’s sight and that He loves us. Wow! In a sense, each individual is as valuable to the Lord as diamonds. Darlene Sala author of More Precious Than Diamonds: Biblical Meditations on a Woman’s Worth in God’s Eyes, points out that while God created many diamonds, He chose to uniquely create only one of each of us. Diamonds are among the most precious gems of all creation. They are beautiful and highly valued, but God values each of us more highly than any inanimate rock.

Diamonds are formed deep within the earth under high temperature and pressure. It has taken millions of years to develop some of these gems. They are the hardest known natural material and are composed of carbon-containing minerals. The hardness of a diamond depends upon its purity and crystalline perfection with the harder stones having less flaws. I see a similarity between how God has chosen to create natural diamonds and how He works to make me into the precious person He desires me to be. I need to remember that when I feel like the heat is on and I am under pressure, God is refining me. The value of a diamond is based upon its carat weight, clarity, color and the quality of its cut. My value to the Lord depends upon the quality of life I live according to my faith, trust, and obedience.

By the power of a balmy breeze upon a peaceful pond, the breath of God created divine diamonds for me that Sunday morning. I can still see those sacred sparkling water wavelets with my mind’s eye. The popular Christian song Diamonds by Hawk Nelson is currently swelling within my heart. I quote some of the lyrics.

He’s making diamonds, diamonds
Making diamonds out of dust
He is refining
And in His timing
He’s making diamonds out of us

I’ll surrender to the power
Of being crushed by love
Till the beauty that was hidden
Isn’t covered up
Oh it’s not what I hoped for
It’s something much better

He’s making diamonds, diamonds
Making diamonds out of dust
He is refining
And in His timing
He’s making diamonds out of us.

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

