Weight Lifting by Wait Lifting

weight liftingchild with clouds mf

weightsbibleAlthough I am not a person who goes to the gym or weight room, I know there can be benefits from lifting weights. Personally, I am more likely to find myself in the wait room of the Lord. There are benefits from both rooms. A person lifts weights to increase muscle strength; one increases spiritual strength by lifting up the name of Jesus. Today I am exploring some similarities between my lifting up physical weights and my spiritually lifting up the Lord. There is a wonderful weightiness of the Lord that can only be found while waiting upon Him.

Let’s move into the weight/wait room and build up and strengthen our muscles and faith. Both weight lifting and wait lifting take time and effort. May we take time right now to wait upon the Lord by lifting up some scriptures that have weight within their words.

I admit that I am weak and need strength. What can I do to increase my strength? Lifting bar-bells will give me physical strength. Lifting up the Lord will give me spiritual strength.
For when I am weak, then I am strong.
II Corinthians 12:10 NIV

So, it is time to start weight lifting and wait lifting. Weight lifting requires a person to lift bar-bells. Wait lifting involves lifting up the name of Jesus.
I will lift up my eyes to the hills –
From whence comes my help?
My help comes from the Lord,
who made heaven and earth.
Psalm 121:1 NKJV

One of the benefits of weight lifting and wait lifting is that it builds up endurance.
But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength:
They shall mount up with wings like eagles.
They shall run and not be weary.
They shall walk and not faint.
Isaiah 40:31 NKJV

Another benefit of lifting is the promise of increased strength.
I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
Philippians 3:13 NIV
And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.
Hebrews 6:15 NIV

I notice a difference between physical strength gained and spiritual strength received. Weight lifting produces strength to the body while wait lifting produces strength to the soul.
On the day I called, You answered me;
You made me bold with strength in my soul.
Psalm 138:3 NASB

My attitude seems to be different towards weight lifting than wait lifting. The phrase “no pain, no gain” is often my experience with weight lifting. In contrast, wait lifting fills me with joy.
The joy of Lord is my strength.
Nehemiah 8:10 NIV

Will people see a difference in me and my appearance, if I invest time in weight lifting and weight lifting? The mass increase of the physical muscles will become visible over time. The Lord works to increase the power of my testimony spiritually and in turn He also increases the area of my influence physically.
Thou hast enlarged me when I was in distress.
Psalms 4:1 KJV
Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me
and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me
from harm so that I will be free from pain.” And God granted his request.
I Chronicles 4:10 NIV

Earlier I pointed out that weakness can be a condition both physically and spiritually. I have explored the options and outcomes of weight lifting and wait lifting. Now, what am I going to do to increase strength?
Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.
Ephesians 6:10 NIV
Therefore, strengthen your feeble arms and weak knees.
Hebrews 12:12 NIV
I lift up my eyes to the hills…
my help comes from the Lord
Psalm 121:1-2 NKJV

My Reader, are you ready for some weight lifting and wait lifting? Will you head to the weight room or the wait room?

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

Leave a Reply

