Cloud Gazing

clouds-1clouds-6I love looking at the various cloud formations in the sky. Today the clouds are revealing the change of seasons while the calendar is marking the beginning of fall. I discern that fall is in the air by the type of clouds that fill the sky. I have been enjoying the summery cumulus clouds that look like an accumulation of cotton balls. However, now more Septemberlike stratus clouds hang in the air like a huge gray blanket covering the sky. My Reader, will you like to join me in some cloud gazing?

At this moment, the clouds are moving rapidly through the upper atmosphere. To me, these clouds look like crowds of chariots racing across the horizon to see which will be the first to triumphantly reach a designated destination. This image reminds me of the last part of Psalm 104:3 that says, “He (God) makes the clouds His chariot and rides on the wings of the wind.” Another scripture that comes to mind is Nahum 1:3 NLT that describes clouds by saying, “The LORD is slow to get angry, but his power is great, and he never lets the guilty go unpunished. He displays his power in the whirlwind and the storm. The billowing clouds are the dust beneath his feet.” Both of these scriptures suggest movement by God whether He be traveling on a cloud or the cloud being dust kicked up by His feet while He was running. So, My Reader, how is God moving in your life? You can be assured that He is actively involved in your life when you hear the chorus of the Christian song God Is on the Move by 7eventh Time Down. The lyrics proclaim, “God is on the move, On the move, Hallelujah! God is on the move In many mighty ways. God is on the move, on the move, Hallelujah! God is on the move On the move today.”

While I observe the various cloud formations, my mind’s eye creates more images than  chariots and dust. Sometimes I discover a cloud that is smiling at me while another cloud may be frowning at me. My mood can influence how I perceive the clouds. These masses of water vapor vary in size and shape and are constantly forming new images. Romans 8:29 says that “For those God foreknew He also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of His Son” Similar to how the formation of clouds change, the Lord is at work in us to conform us to His nature and character. My Reader, what is God forming in you? Galatians 5:22-23 says, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law” Maybe the Lord is forming some new fruit in your life.

As I visually I follow the clouds’ movement, one cloud bumps into another. These two become attached and as they continue to move across the sky they collide with other clouds and form an even larger mass. Eventually, this new structure becomes an insurmountable mass of molecules. While the Israelites traveled through the wilderness, Exodus 13:21 says, “By day the LORD went ahead of them in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way. While I imagine that a pillar of a cloud was quite large, I wonder how fast it was moving. My Reader, do you sense that God has placed a cloud over you to protect you and guide you? I like the security of Psalm 91:1, “Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.” In this verse, I think that a cloud produces the shadow of the Almighty.

Psalm 8:1 begins, “LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! You have set your glory in the heavens.” The clouds I have observed are an integral portion of God’s creation. They majestically portray the glory and splendor of the Lord. David declares in Psalm 145:5, “They (God’s works) speak of the glorious splendor of your majesty– and I will meditate on your wonderful works. I also like Psalm 19:1 that states, “The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.” Yes, clouds are the result of God’s handiwork in the heavens. However, this verse reminds me of Ephesians 2:10 that begins by saying, “For we are God’s handiwork.” Clouds are spectacular but the Lord also created each of us to reflect His glory. My Reader, do you reflect the glory of God in all you do? Psalm 139:13-14 says, “For you (the Lord) created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” All of the Lord’s creation is wonderful including you and the clouds!

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

 

Leave a Reply

