Don’t Just Do It!

just-do-itdo-whatever-avJust Do It” is a trademark of the Niki brand. As a sports logo, it is an encouragement for all athletes to just go out and do whatever sport they may choose. Not a bad slogan, but I want to do more than just do it. I want  to “Do whatever He tells you.” To clarify, “He” is Jesus and these words are recorded in John 2:5. Mary spoke these words to the servants at the wedding in Cana when the supply of wine was depleted.

“Do whatever He tells you.”
John 2:5

I am thinking about these words as we begin 2017. I am not fond of New Year’s resolutions because most of us, myself included, tend to break them before many days have passed. However, this time of year offers me the opportunity to re-evaluate my life goals. I try to prioritize such things as how much time I will spend writing my blogs and how many days a week I will commit to volunteer endeavors. Family and friends, household duties and errands rightfully occupy significant space in my time. I just need to do whatever He tells me! But, how do I know what He tells me to do? I find my answer in Psalm 32.

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;
Psalm 32:8

This promise was spoken to David by the Lord. It is also a promise that the Lord gives to help me know what He wants me to do. However, I must make it a priority to listen for Him if I am to hear from Him! So, here is something for me to add to my To Do list for every day of the new year just as David did in another Psalm.

In the morning, LORD, you hear my voice;
in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.
Psalm 5:3

Beginning each day with prayer must be a priority! As I look closely at David’s words, I become aware that he not only spoke to God but He also expected to  hear from God. I must follow David’s example if I want to do whatever Jesus tells me to do. This is the only way I will know what He is telling me to do! However, I cannot just lie in bed all day. It is time for action and I follow the guidance of James.

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves.
Do what it says.
James 1:22

Mary told the servants to do whatever Jesus said and now James tells those reading his letter to do what the word of God says. It doesn’t matter if I think I can do it or not because Philippians 4:13 says, “I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” The Lord will equip me to do whatever He tells me to do! One day God may just tell me to put one foot in front of the other while another day He may tell me to contact a friend I have not seen in a long time. Ann Voskamp has said, “Miracles keep happening in the mundane.” The Lord may just be telling me to do something simple. Ann Voskamp also assures me that my Heavenly Father is infinitely bigger than my fears, so I do not need to be afraid of anything He may tell me to do. Surprisingly though, the most important thing He is asking me to do is to deepen my relationship with Him. My goals for 2017 are not simply a “just do it” list. My life goal is “Do whatever He tells me to do.” This requires much more commitment than New Year’s resolutions.

May God bless and guide you throughout 2017!

Joyfully,
Cheryl
gold apple new

 

2 thoughts on “Don’t Just Do It!

  1. Thank you for the power versus. I definitely needed to be reminded that miracles happen even during the mundane times. My life seems to feel mundane most of the time, but I believe this is the year when God is going to show me something new to glorify his name. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

